Skip to main content

Christianity in Africa and Asia: RESEARCH GUIDES

This guide is designed for use by the undergraduate students in Prof. McClymond's Christianity in Africa and Asia class (TH 336), Spring, 2013.

RESEARCH GUIDES (note starred items)

*Asian Christian theologies:  a research guide to authors, movements, sources.  3 vols.  BT30.A8 A74 2002

Following essays on the history of Christianity in Asia from the seventh to the twentieth century, this guide offers essays on over twenty Asian countries.  For each country, there is a summary of national and Christian history highlighting theological themes, institutions, associations, movements, and biographies of important figures.  Extensive bibliographic references.  The set has been criticized by reviewers for focusing on ecumenical or "liberal" figures and movements while providing insufficient coverage of more conservative Christianities.

Christianity in China: A Scholars' Guide to Resources in the Libraries and Archives of the United States. BR1285 .C47 2009

Mainly useful for advanced researchers but see the entry for Pius XII Memorial Library on p. 269 which includes a listing of several SLU dissertations on Christianity in China.

*Handbook of Christianity in China.  2 vols.  BR1285 .H36 2001

Volumes are organized chronologically (Vol. 1--635-1800; Vol. 2--1800-present) and subdivided by dynasty.  The twentieth century is split between chapters on "Republican China" (1900-1949) and "People's Republic, Hongkong, Macao, Taiwan."  Each chapter contains sections on "Sources", "Actors,""Scene," and "Themes."

*Handbook of Christianity in JapanBR1305 .H34 2003

Contains 19 topical essays in three sections.  Part One is on "Christianity in Japanese History;" Part Two on "Christianity in Japanese Society and Culture;" and Part Three on "Resources for the Study of Christianity in Japan."  Essays in Parts One and Two conclude with bibliographies and there is a General Bibliography on pp. 409-414.

Key Events in African History:  A Reference GuideRef. DT20.F35 2002

See chapters on “Ethiopia:  The Emergence of a Christian Kingdom, A.D. 1250+” and “The Spread of Christianity, 1804 Onward,” both chapters conclude with “Suggestions for further reading.”  See also index entries under “Christianity.”

Reference Guide to Christian Missionary Societies in China: from the Sixteenth to the Twentieth Century.   BV2010 .T54 2009

Contains basic information on all known missionary-sending agencies to China, both Catholic and Protestant which are treated separately.  Coverage is from the late sixteenth century (arrival of Matteo Ricci in China) to 1950.  Includes bibliographical references and information on archives.

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083