Skip to main content

Christianity in Africa and Asia: BIBLIOGRAPHIES

This guide is designed for use by the undergraduate students in Prof. McClymond's Christianity in Africa and Asia class (TH 336), Spring, 2013.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

American China Missions: An Introductory Bibliography

"A selective, lightly annotated listing of fewer than 100 basic books and articles in English on Western
missionaries in modern China" from Yale University guide to World Christianity.

Bibliography in contextual theology in Africa.  BT30.A357 B53 1993

Pius Library only owns the first volume of this bibliography which was published from 1994-2002.

Bibliography on Christology in Africa, Asia-Pacific and Latin America.  BT205 .B524 1990

Bibliography of Christianity in Malaysia.

Classified bibliography originally published in 1990, mounted on the web in 1997, and updated through 2002.

Bibliographia missionaria.   Ref. BV2180 .B524  (published as Bibliografia missionaria from 1935-1985)

Published as an annual bibliography since 1935.  Although published by the Pontifical Missionary Library, this title covers publications of "all the principal Christian Churches."  Classified arrangement with chapters for both Asia and Africa.  

Christianity in Ethiopia and Eritrea: an annotated bibliography.  BR1370 .Y64 1998

Christianity in Kenya: an annotated bibliography.  BR1443.K4 Y64 2002

Christianity in Southeast Asia: a bibliographical guide; an annotated bibliography of selected references in Western languages.  BR1178 .C47 1966

Christianity in the Sudan: an annotated bibliography.  BR1385 .Y64 1999

Christianity in Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi: an annotated bibliography.  BR1443.U33 Y64 2000

International Mission Bibliography.  Ref. BV2061 .I58 2003

See chapters on Africa (pp. 479ff.) and Asia (pp. 673ff.).

International Christian Literature Documentation Project: A Subject, Author, and Corporate Name Index to Nonwestern Christian Literature.  2 vols.  Ref.  BR117 .I49 1993

Vol. 1 is a subject index of 18,635 monographs and pamphlets as well as 6774 essays in 1843 multi-author works documenting Christian life and mission in the non-western world.  According to the preface, presents the "self-understanding of 'indigenous' Christians and their ecclesiological, ethical, pastoral, and theological concerns, encompassing what they believe and what they do about it."

Korean History: A Bibliography

Freely available web database from the Center for Korean Studies at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.  See “Religion and Philosophy” in list of "Bibliography Contents."

Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature 1991-2011

General index of over 700, mostly scholarly, periodicals published in 29 African countries from 1991 to 2011 provided by the Nairobi, Kenya office of the Library of Congress.  Contains 1641 records under the subject term "Christianity" (there may be other relevant subject terms).

Theology in contextVols. 1-19 (1984-2002)  Pius Oversize  BR118 .T536

This bibliography (unfortunately no longer published) indexed theological journals published in the third world (Africa, Asia, Oceania, and Latin America) as well as selected articles relevant to third world Christianity from Europe and North America.  In addition, each semiannual issue offered "Summaries of Selected Articles," "Book Surveys," and reports on theological conferences held in the third world.

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083