Skip to main content

Christianity in Africa and Asia: JOURNALS

This guide is designed for use by the undergraduate students in Prof. McClymond's Christianity in Africa and Asia class (TH 336), Spring, 2013.

JOURNALS

Pius Library subscribes to a number of journals focusing on or containing significant material about Christianity in Africa and Asia; many of these are published in those areas.  Examples below.  Most of these journals are indexed in one of the databases listed below which are accessible through the database list on the library web page (login with Banner ID and password required for off-campus access).

Academic Search Complete (ASC)

ATLA Religion Database (ATLA)

Catholic Periodical & Literature Index (CPLI)

 

AFER:  African Ecclesial Review (ATLA)

African and Asian Studies

African Christian Studies (indexed in Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature)

Asia Journal of Theology (ATLA)

Asian Christian Review

Asian Journal of Pentecostal Studies (ASC with full text from 2000-present)

Australasian Catholic Record (CPLI)

Bible Bhashyam

Chinese Theological Review (ATLA)

Christian Orient (ATLA)

Collectanea Christiana Orientalia (mostly Spanish with some English)

Dharma deepika: A South Asian Journal of Missiological Research

Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (ASC)

Indian Church History Review (ATLA)

Indian Journal of Spirituality

International Bulletin of Missionary Research (ATLA will full text from 1981-present)

Japanese Journal of Religious Studies (ATLA with full text from 1974-present)

Japanese Religions (ATLA)

Journal for the Study of Religion (published in South Africa)(ATLA)

Journal of African History (ATLA)

Journal of Asia Adventist Seminary (ASC with full text from 2008-present)

Journal of Asian Studies (ATLA)

Journal of Eastern Christian Studies (ATLA)

Journal of Korean Religions

Journal of Korean Studies

Journal of Modern African Studies (ASC)

Journal of Religion in Africa (ATLA)

Journal of Southern Africa Studies

Journal of Theology for Southern Africa (ATLA with full text from 1972-present)

Logos and Pneuma:  Chinese Journal of Theology

Melanesian Journal of Theology (all issues free online)

Mission Today (formerly Indian Missiological Review)

Missionalia (South African Missiological Society) (ATLA)

Monumenta Nipponica (ATLA)

Pacific Journal of Theology (published in Fiji)(ATLA)

Pacifica:  Australian Theological Studies (ATLA)

Philippiniana Sacra (ASC with full text from 2007-present)

Religions of South Asia (ATLA with full text from 2007-2010)

Sino-Christian Studies (ATLA; ASC with full text from 2006--1 year ago)

Studies in World Christianity (available online 2000-present)

 

In addition, the library owns several relevant discontinued journals.

African Ecclesiastical Review (1959-1964)

Bulletin de theologie africaine/Bulletin of African Theology (1980-1984)

Contemporary Religions in Japan (1960-1970)

East Asian Pastoral Review (1979-2007) (CPLI)

Ghana Bulletin of Theology (1970-1975)

Grace & Truth (Federation of Dominicans of Southern Africa)(1999-2008)

Indian Theological Studies (1977-2010)

Japan Christian Quarterly (1966-1991) (ATLA)

Japan Christian Review (1992-1998) (ATLA)

Japan Harvest (Japan Evangelical Missionary Association) (1970-1976)

Japan Mission Journal (1993-2009)

Japan Missionary Bulletin (1965-1992)

Jeevadhara: A Journal of Christian Interpretation (1971-2009)

Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society (1835-2007) (JSTOR)

Logos (Colombo, Sri Lanka) (1969-1976)

Stulos Theological Journal (1993-2008) (ATLA)

 

Your Librarian

Ron Crown's picture
Ron Crown
Contact:
Lewis Annex 977-3083