Skip to Main Content

Crusades: Reference Sources

Library and internet resources in Medieval and Renaissance Studies for research on the Crusades.

Atlases

Atlas of the Crusades by Jonathan Simon Christopher Riley-Smith (Editor)
Call Number: G1034 .R5 1991
Historical Atlas of the Mediterranean
Interactive maps of the crusades in the Holy Land with additional information on cities, castles and battles

Chronologies

Madden, Thomas, ed. Crusades: The illustrated history. Ann Arbor: The University of Michigan Press, 2005.

Page 214 contains a chronology of major events, primarily related to the Levant, from 634 A.D.-1798 A.D.

An online timeline, compiled by Dr. Richard Abels, can be found here.

An online timeline, comiled by Dr. E. L. Skip Knox, can be found here.

Biographical Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of World Biography This link opens in a new window
Search across all the volumes and supplements of the second edition of Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Find biographies of deceased persons of note (either good or bad) associated with the British Isles from the fourth century BC to 2000. This subscription provides for use by one person at a time.
Personennamen des Mittelalters
Pius Special Collections/ VFL
Z695.1.P4 P47 2000

Namensformen für 13 000 Personen gemäss den Regeln für die alphabetische Katalogisierung

Encyclopedias/ Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of the Crusades by Alfred J. Andrea
Call Number: D155 .A6 2003
The Crusades: an encyclopedia by Alan Murray (Editor)
ebook
A History of the Crusades by Harry W. Hazard (Editor); Kenneth M. Setton (Editor)
Call Number: D157 .S482
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert Bjork (Editor)
ebook
Medieval Islamic Civilization by Josef W. Meri; Jere L. Bacharach
Call Number: Ref DS36.85 .M434 2006
Available in print in Reference Collection, Lewis Annex
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by Alexander P. Kazhdan (Editor)
Call Number: DF521 .O93 1991
eBook and available in print in Reference Collection, Lewis Annex
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor)
Call Number: D114 .D5 1982
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers access toonline art resources available today. Users can access Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Lexikon des Mittelalters by Robert Auty
Call Number: D101.5 .L49

Bibliographies

The Crusades: A Bibliography With Indexes by James F. McEaney (Compiled by)
ISBN: 159033180X
Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Kreuzzüge by H.E. Mayer
Call Number: Z6207.C97 M3x 1965
Located in Pius Oversize
The crusade: historiography and bibliography by Aziz Suryal Atiya
Call Number: Z6207.C97 A8
Die Kreuzzüge : ihre Zeit und Folgen by Marc-Edouard Enay
Call Number: Z6207.C97 E63 1998
Crusades : classification schedule, classified listing by call number, alphabetical listing by author or title, chronological listing.
Call Number: Z6207.C97 H3 1965
Widener Library shelflist ; v. 1.
L'histoire des moines, chanoines et religieux au moyen âge : guide de recherche et documents by André Vauchez et Cécile Caby (Editors)
Call Number: BX2470 .H57 2003
Part of a larger series of Atelier du médiéviste, which include bibliographical references and indices for various topics such as diplomatics, numismatics and philology.
Répertoire des sources historiques du moyen âge by Ulysse Chevalier
Call Number: Z6203 .C53