Skip to main content

Biology : Journal Articles/Databases

Selected databases

More database information

Web of Science vs. Scopus

Both are large, powerful databases that can be used for topic searching, cited reference searching and more. They each have strengths and weaknesses and you may choose one or the other (or both) depending on the goals of your search. Here is a comprehensive comparison of both databases from HLWiki hosted by the University of British Columbia.

More about Google Scholar


Read about the advantages and disadvantages of searching Google Scholar. 

Follow directions to optimize your Google Scholar setup for easy access to full text articles provided by SLU Libraries.

SLU Libraries E-Journal Portal

Search for Periodical Titles

Browse Periodicals by Subject
Browse Periodical Titles
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Where is my article?

Full text of journal articles is not included in many databases such as Biological Abstracts, Scopus and Web of Science .

Click on the button that appears in the database result list to access the full text. This button opens the Article Linker page which provides links to the full text if SLU owns it.

Older print journals may be stored at the LSLF, our remote storage facility. If your article is at LSLF, request it via Interlibrary Loan and it will be scanned and delivered to you electronically.

If SLU Libraries don't have access to a journal article you need, request it via  Interlibrary Loan.