Skip to main content

Romanticism: Articles

Library and internet resources for research on the literature of the Romantic-era.

Journal Articles

Journal articles are usually comprised of original research that is focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. These articles are written by scholars in a given field and are very authoritative and reliable. Journal articles are published more quickly than books, offering more current information.

Find it @ SLU

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Journal Articles

SLUth Search Plus searches about 50 library databases, including several literature databases (MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, and Project Muse.) and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

SLUth - Search Plus



 

Your librarian recommends the following library databases for literary research. MLA, JSTOR, and Project Muse are contained within SLUth Search Plus. However, MLA offers advanced search functionality when searched alone. 

MLA International Bibliography offers many specialized search options, including the following. 

Primary Subject Author Search (This search lets you quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific author.)

  • example: Milton, John

Primary Subject Work Search (This search lets you quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific work.)

  • example: Paradise Lost

Subject Search (This search lets you find articles in MLA about a specific subject, literary technique, etc.)

  • examples: ecocriticism, nature, vitalism, materialism
Loading ...