Research Guides: U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction: Home

Featured Resources

America: History & Life

1895-present. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada...more.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922

This digital collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society contains primary source American slavery and abolition materials in the form of over 3,500 printed books, pamphlets, graphics, and ephemera in full color....more.

Best Bets

Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use to find books in the SLU Libraries.
SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use to find articles. SLUth searches about 50 library databases at once, including America: History & Life, JSTOR, and Project Muse.
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of primary source, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Includes sources related to slavery, civil rights (NAACP papers), women's rights, labor, international relations and military conflicts, Latinx history, and American politics and the Catholic church (John A Ryan papers).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis is a search platform that allows searching Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive, The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, and The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 at the same time. Coverage:1600-1925.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society...more.