Journal articles are usually comprised of original research that is focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. These articles are written by scholars in a given field and are very authoritative and reliable. Journal articles are published more quickly than books, offering more current information.
SLUth Search Plus searches about 50 library databases, including America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, JSTOR, Project Muse, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.
Why search an individual library database if it's available in SLUth Search Plus? Advanced search functionality! This is especially important for America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts. See "Search by Historical Period" tab above.
1895-present. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada...more.
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Due to its archival nature, JSTOR does not include current or recent issues of journals.
SLU has access to all JSTOR archival journals and primary source content through the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection. Click here for a complete list of the included collections...more.
America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts give you the option to search for journal articles ABOUT a specific historical period. This option is available on the main search screen.
Note: Your search may return articles that are about a BROADER time period than you've specified, but the articles will definitely include the historical period you're interested in.