This is the "Home" page of the "Education Resources for Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Suggested resources for all types of educational research.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.slu.edu/EducationResearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose of this Guide

This  guide is appropriate for students doing research in education.  Your input is important.  If you have suggestions for additions or changes to this guide, I want to hear from you.

For more information about the resources on this guide or to schedule an appointment,  please contact me via email baughga@slu.edu or phone 314-977-3598. 

Other contacts include the information desk at Pius XII Memorial Library 314-977-3103, general email reference piusref@slu.edu, or chat reference.

State Standards and Statistics

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

This Guide Covers

  • Search Tips
    .....Strategies to use when searching databases.
  • Find Articles
    .....Use major education databases, databases related to education, and general databases to locate articles on your topic.
  • Find Books
    .....SLU Library Catalog, MOBIUS Library Catalog, & WorldCat.
  • Find E-Books
    .....eBooks in the Library Catalog and free ebooks.
  • Book Reviews
    .....Search databases and ejournal collections to locate book reviews.
  • Reference Books/Videos
    .....Locate online and print reference books and videos.
  • Find Dissertations
    .....Search for dissertations, primarily in the United States, but also some freely available ones from Europe and Australia.
  • Journals
    .....How to find online journals, find out where to publish, and check journal rankings.
  • Newspapers
    .....Newspapers with current news.
  • Evaluating Resources
    .....What to look for when evaluating articles and websites.
  • Scholarly vs. Popular
    ....A refresher on the criteria for scholarly versus popular publications.
  • Qualitative and Quantitative Research
    .....The differences between qualitative and quantitative research methods.
  • Literature Reviews
    .....See different configurations for literature reviews.
  • Statistics
    .....Sources for statistics about education
  • Tests & Measures
    .....Sources to help you locate tests and measures.
  • Citation Tools
    .....Learn about the citation tools available, including books.
  • Jesuit Education
    .....Information about AJCU schools, and Jesuit sources.
  • Off-Campus Access
    .....Access subscribed resources from off campus.
 

Find Databases

Go to the SLU Libraries Homepage
http://libraries.slu.edu

Home Page

  • If you know the database you want, click on the Databases tab, and select it from one of the drop-down database lists.
      
  • If you do not know which database to use, click Databases by Subject link, and try a general one from the "General" list or a subject list that "matches" your topic.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Georgia Baugh, MA, MALIS
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Pius XII Memorial Library, Room 503
314-977-3598
baughga@slu.edu
Text-A-Librarian at 314-925-7331
Send Email

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Martha Allen, M.A.L.I.S.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Pius XII Memorial Library
Room 100
314-977-3596
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip