Search for scholarly (aka peer reviewed) journal articles and scholarly books using SLUth Search Plus. It searches more than 100 library databases, including several literature and humanities databases (MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, Project Muse) and the SLU Libraries Catalog.
Learn how to use SLUth Search Plus by watching this short video.
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Due to its archival nature, JSTOR does not include current or recent issues of journals.
SLU has access to all JSTOR archival journals and primary source content through the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection. Click here for a complete list of the included collections...more.
If you're looking specifically for books and ebooks, you might prefer using the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.
Look for books published by university presses and scholarly associations, written by authors with degrees and credentials in the field. Scholarly or academic books will also cite their sources and will have a lengthy list of references.
Learn how to find books on a topic using the SLU Libraries Catalog by watching this short video.
MLA International Bibliography offers many specialized search options, including the following.
Browse Authors (Quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific author.)
Browse Works (Quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific work.)
MLA Thesaurus (Use to find articles in MLA about a specific subject, literary technique, etc.)
MLA Handbook, 9th edition by 