Skip to main content

Marketing: Getting Started

Basic Steps to Research in Marketing

Understand the Industry, Marketplace and Competitors

Consider the existing industry and its major corporate players.  Several sources are available to find industry profiles, including IBISWorld and Mergent Archives.  Some competitive intelligence may be called for to learn about other companies marketing similar products.  Company information sources can give you insights into market share and SWOT analysis of competitors.  Also consider looking for case studies of successful brands.

Find Current News and Articles

Articles in the business press are likely to give you insights into a industry's current outlook, trends, major players and factors such as legislation that might impact industry operations.  ABI/Inform and Business Source Premier are databases in which you'll find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals that cover business topics.  These sources can also be used to find articles on topics such as marketing research and branding strategy. 

Look at Market Research Reports

Sources for market research include Mintel and Passport: Global Market Information Database

Look for Demographic Data

Demographic data can help identify potential target markets of customers based on their preferences, income and spending habits.  The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes a Consumer Expenditure Survey of US consumer spending habits.  Passport: Global Market Information Database contains statistics on consumers around the world.  Many print resources are also available.  

 

Top Marketing Databases

Quick links to several of our most popular business databases, for when you already know where to start.

For a comprehensive list of SLU's subscription databases, please see the library A-Z Database List.

Your Librarian

Judy Geczi's picture
Judy Geczi
Contact:
Pius XII Memorial Library
Room 202F

judy.geczi@slu.edu
(314) 977-3595

Subject: Business
Subjects:Business

Follow Pius Library on Facebook and Twitter