Jacques et al. L'atelier du medieviste: identifier sources et
citations. Brepols, 1994.
Intended to provide
assistance in identifying various aspects of medieval source documents;
there are chapters inter alia on the Latin Bible and glossa,
Latin and Greek translations from Arabic and Hebrew, liturgical citations,
canon law, conciliar and synodal decisions, lives of saints and hagiographical
motifs, sermons, exempla, and iconographic sources. Contains
much useful information including basic introductory material and both
primary and secondary bibliography. The following list of sections from
the first chapter ("La Bible latine et les gloses") will give
an idea of the type of material presented. 1. Essential bibliography,
including works of introduction and the principle instruments of research.
2. Historical outline of the Latin Bible including fundamental bibliography,
a sketch of the major stages, important editions and databases. 3. How
to locate a citation from the Latin Bible including lists of concordances
for the primary sources (i.e. Vulgate, vetus latina, Septuagint)
and how to access information on intermediate sources (church fathers,
liturgical or encyclopedic sources, alternate readings in medieval sources).
4. Glossa including a sketch of the history of glossing the biblical
text, editions of the Glossa and bibliography.
Gray Cowan, comp. and ed. Literature of Medieval History 1930-1975:
A Supplement to Louis John Paetow's A Guide to the Study of Medieval
History. 5 vols. Millwood, NY: Kraus International Publications.
D117 .B69 1980 Suppl.
does not replace) Paetow's Guide
(see below) with more emphasis given to the needs of advanced students and scholars.
Organized similarly to Paetow.
Caenegem. R. C.
van. Introduction aux Sources de l'Histoire Medievale.
Turnholti: Brepols, 1997.
Pius Vatican Ref. D117 .C2214 1997
Translation and update
of Guide to the Sources of Medieval History (available at Vat.
Film Ref. D117 .C2213 1978). Five sections: "Typology of the Sources
of Medieval History," "Libraries and Archives," "Great
Collections and Repertories of Sources," "Reference Works
for the Study of Medieval Texts," and "Bibliographical Introduction
to the Auxiliary Science of History," (e.g. diplomatic, paleography,
Chevalier, U. Repertoire
des sources historiques du moyen age: bio-bibliographie. 2nd
ed. 2 vols. Paris: Alphonse Picard et Fils, 1905-07.
des sources historiques du moyen age: topo-bibliographie. 2
vols. Paris, 1894-1903.
The two Chevalier
guides provide bibliography for persons and for places and things
(listed alphabetically) respectively. "They are invaluable guides...but
are difficult to use because no attempt has been made to weed out
worthless material. Good and bad, old and new, accounts are jumbled
together in long alphabetical lists." (Paetow).
Useful for older biblography and for that especially obscure name
Everett U., C. Julian Bishko and Robert L. Kellog. Medieval
Studies: A Bibliographical Guide. New York and London: Garland
Publishing, Inc., 1983.
(see the detailed table of contents) listing of about 9,000 reference
books and monographs. Most entries have brief (one or two sentences)
annotations. Intended to cover the "major collections of sources
and the secondary literature considered to be of basic importance for
the history and the culture of the western European Middle Ages, Byzantium,
and medieval Islamic civilization." (Introduction)
and Frank Heidtmann. Wie Finde Ich Altertumswissenschaftliche
Literature: Klassische Philologie, Mittel- und Neulatein, Byzantinistik,
Alte Geschichte und Klassische Archaeologie. Berlin: Verlag
Arno Spitz GmbH, 1992.
Ref. PA91.G85 1992
Primarily a guide
for classical studies, listed here because of relevant sections on
"Mittel- und Neulateinische Philologie," covering the period
500-1500 and "Byzantinistik und Neugriechische Philologie."
Louis John. A Guide to the Study of Medieval History.
revised and corrected edition. Millwood, NY: Kraus Reprint, 1980.
The classic guide
to medieval studies (originally appeared in 1917), still useful but
must be supplemented by more recent guides. Classified arrangement;
each topic begins with a list of major themes, events, etc. followed
by recommended background reading, more detailed accounts, original
sources, maps, etc., followed by more extensive bibliography.
August. Bibliotheca Historica Medii Aevi: Wegwiser durch die Geschichtswerke
des europaeischen Mittelalters bis 1500. 2 vols. 2nd ed. Berlin:
W. Weber, 1896.
undertaking devoted to the classification of the primary sources of
medieval history" (Paetow, p.
7). "The standard reference guide to medieval sources." (Crosby
et al). The first of two parts lists printed collections
of medieval sources both for Europe in general and for individual countries.
The second part lists alphabetically medieval authors and their works
including lists of manuscripts, editions, translations and secondary
sources (books and articles). Though now somewhat obsolete, still useful
for access to nineteenth century scholarship and for those authors or
titles not yet covered by the Reportium Fontium Historiae Medii Aevi
(see next title).
Fontium Historiae Medii Aevi: primum ab Augusto Potthast digestum, nunc
cura collegii historicorum e pluribus nationibus emendatum et auctum.
Rome: Istituto Storico Italiano per il Medio Evo, 1962- (in progress).
Intended to replace
Potthast's Bibliotheca Historica
Medii Aevi; the latest fascicle published extends coverage through
the letters O. The first volume is a much expanded version of Part I
of Potthast, including many printed sources either not mentioned by
Potthast or which have only appeared since. The remaining volumes list
medieval writings alphabetically by author (or title if the author is
unknown) with references to manuscripts, editions, translations, facsimilies
and secondary literature. Covers a wider scope of literature than Potthast
(who focused on strictly historical sources) by including works of theology,
philosophy, law, economics, art and literature. A supplemental volume
adds to the list of printed sources in volume 1. See also Berlioz et
al, L'Atelier du Medieviste 1,