This page includes selected resources for students in POLS 3300: U.S. Public Policy. I encourage you to make an appointment with me (Rebecca Hyde) for personalized suggestions once you decide what area of policy you will focus on.
Use this "mega" database to search over 50 of the Library's databases at once, including JSTOR, Political Affairs index, Academic Search Complete, Social Science Citation Index and more. In addition to scholarly journal articles, SLUth includes ebooks, magazine and newspaper articles. Some major databases such as PAIS International are not included.
1972 - Present. Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more on subjects related to political science, public administration, economics, law and more. It includes indexing for many public policy journals including the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory, the American Review of Public Administration and Public Administration Review.
Although it doesn't have the same powerful limiters you'll find in Library databases, Google Scholar is invaluable for discovering who cited an article (even linking you to citation searches in Web of Science), finding all articles by an author, and for finding the very latest research. Make sure you're on campus or signed in through the SLU Libraries to make full use of this resource.
Policy Archive is a digital library of public policy research from government, non-profit organizations, think tanks and more. It contains over 27,000 documents on diverse subjects including, energy, environment, human rights, social conditions, population and demographics, manufacturing and more.
Primarily 2002-present with some earlier. A joint venture of the Naval Postgraduate School and Department of Homeland Security, this library includes documents on "homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities."
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports are non-partisan policy research reports written for the use of Congress. EveryCRSReport partners with one Republican and one Democrat in Congress to make available to the public each CRS report currently available on Congress's internal website.
Includes full-text CRS reports from 2004-present. Use the Advanced search to limit your search to only CRS reports. In addition to CRS Reports, this database includes legislative histories, full-text of Congressional hearings, political news, congressional social media, member profiles and more.
Search USA.gov searches .gov, .mil, .us and selected other domains that include official local, regional, state and federal government agencies as well as quasi governmental agencies such as the Smithsonian. WARNING: local governments that use a .com domain (such as St. Louis County) are not included in this search.
Mission: "to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense." Considered conservative.
Mission: "seeks to improve the human condition by advancing ideas that promote economic opportunity and prosperity, while securing and safeguarding peace for America and all mankind." Considered conservative leaning.
Mission: to develop "solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous." Unlike many think tanks, RAND Corporation started as a government contractor for the U.S. Air Force and continues to produce both federally funded and privately funded research. It is nonprofit. Considered independent.
Think Tanks & news sources often have a perspective through which they see the world. That doesn't mean they're not credible sources, but it's important to recognize what the perspective of a source is, and take that into account when you analyze it. Ideally, you'll have sources from multiple perspectives. Media Bias/Fact Check can help you figure out the perspective, potential bias, and credibility of Think Tanks and news sources.
1790-present. The tool provides easy mapping and report creation functions for U.S. Census data on population and housing, as well as statistics on religion, crime and health, and selected elections data.
2013-present. The Statistical Abstract of the U.S. includes brief statistics on almost every topic. The focus is on the U.S. but some international statistics are included. This is a great source to start with to find which agency or organization has collected more in-depth statistics.