Skip to main content
Saint Louis University Libraries Research Guides
Immel Law Library       Madrid Library       Medical Center Library       Pius XII Memorial Library   

Quick Search Tools for Engineers: QUICK links

Use this research guide to find QUICK answers.

SEARCH HERE

Primary databases

Guides, books, and journals

Resource guides http://libguides.slu.edu/profile/montre/
These Parks College guides provide more detailed information on finding resources to help with your research. Explore the other guides to get information on many different areas of study- from anthropology to theological studies
.

Finding books  http://libcat.slu.edu/
The library’s online catalog defaults to a keyword search; it may be more effective to use subject searching. Remember that keyword searching automatically adds the AND “connector” between words. To search a term as a phrase use quotation marks.
The catalog contains the holdings of all SLU libraries (Law, Medical, and Pius), but expanding the search using the MOBIUS catalog allows students to access most of the academic libraries throughout the state.

Finding articles http://libraries.slu.edu/databases/databases.cfm

Pius library subscribes to nearly 150 databases and it will be beneficial to use the subject guides to focus the search for journal articles. Databases specific to aviation and engineering often rely on controlled vocabulary when indexing and abstracting material. Take advantage of the built-in subject mapping feature in databases such as Scopus, Applied Science & Technology, and Web of Science.

Most databases will offer you a “link to full text” which will lead to various options for finding an article – not all will be full-text via the web. For Interlibrary Loan – see ILLiad http://illiad.slu.edu/illiad/xii/logon.html


Citing your research
http://libguides.slu.edu/styleguides_manuals
Sources to help you cite resources properly in a variety of styles: APA, AMA, Chicago, Legal, MLA, and Turabian.

 

Your Librarian

Lee Cummings's picture
Lee Cummings
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Pius Library, 205
314-977-3590