Skip to main content

How to Create Stable URLs: Introduction

Instructions or links to instructions explaining how to create durable links to journals and articles by source, i.e. database, ejournal collection, and ebook.

SLU Library EZproxy URL

For faculty and librarians -

The EZproxy prefix is required to access subscribed resources from off campus.

Add this proxy prefix to the beginning of article links, ebook links, database links, and ejournal links.

Right click on the link and copy it. Then paste it in front of the "http://... for the article.

Steps to Creating a Stable URL

1.  Determine in which database or journal collection the article to which you want to link is located.

a.  If the article is not available full text in the database you are searching, such as
     PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, Criminal Justice Abstracts, and many more
     that are index/abstract only, click Find It @ SLU  button to locate the full text.

     Article in PsycARTICLES

  Article in Wiley

b.  Once you have determined in which database or journal collection the
      full text exists, use the directions for that database/platform or journal
      collection to create a stable URL.

Linking to SLU Libraries' Subscribed Resources

Linking to Saint Louis University Libraries' subscribed articles/ejournals/ebooks is advantageous on syllabi, in SLU Global, and in eReserves because

  • For most journals and ebooks, linking to journals, articles, and ebooks is legal (no copyright issues) - One exception is the Harvard Business Review, whose publisher requires a copyright fee for linking directly to any of their articles.
  • Creating a pdf of a subscribed article to upload to a course management system like Blackboard or Moodle, or uploading a pdf article from one of SLU's subscribed databases or journal collections is not always allowed by our license.  Be safe, do not do it.
  • If you upload an article to Blackboard, Moodle, or another course management system for your students to read, it is counted as ONE use of that journal.  If you provide the link to that same article and ask your class of 30 to read that article, that will be counted as THIRTY uses.  If you want to be sure we do not cancel the journal, LINK, do not copy the article.

The tabs across the top as the links below provide instructions for linking to articles, journals, or ebooks from many of our digital content providers.

Your Librarian

Donghua Tao's picture
Donghua Tao
Contact:
Interim Assistant Director for Information Services/Professor
Medical Center Library
Saint Louis University

Email: donghua.tao@slu.edu
314-977-8812

Credits

How to Create Stable URLs guide originally created by Georgia Baugh, Electronic Resources Research Librarian, 2012.