Research Guides: EAP 1200: Academic Writing and Editing Skills II: Home

Student Success and Wellness Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library,
lori.kupsky@slu.edu

Phone # 314-977-3592

Subjects: Education, English for Academic Purposes, High School Visits, Honors Program, School for Professional Studies

Other Library Research Guides

English for Academic Purposes - EAP
by Lori Kupsky Last Updated Apr 28, 2023 189 views this year

SLUth Search Plus Tutorial

Helpful Sources to use for Background Research for your Topic.

Below are Encyclopedia databases that can help you find background information on your topic. You are not able to cite these sources in your paper but they still might be helpful in learning more about your topic and finding keywords and other terms you can use when searching for other sources.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more....more.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
2007-2014. Currently consists of 173 encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. Subjects covered are primarily in the social sciences with some health-related topics....more.

Helpful Databases to help you find Sources for your Topic

Use the databases below to search for sources such as articles, videos, and podcasts.

General Databases

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use SLUth to start your information search - find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Some major databases such as ABI/INFORM Complete, Biological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts are not included....more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for many topics such as hybrid cars, terrorism, legalizing marijuana, and health care by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series and much more....more.

Streaming Film Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary video collection that supports the entire curriculum. You'll find documentaries, interviews, feature films, news programs and newsreels, along with thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes Counseling & Therapy in Video Classic & volumes III & IV collections.
Alexander Street Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for selected films from Alexander Street....more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video service for selected educational films from Films Media Group....more.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions....more.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition This link opens in a new window
Streaming video documentaries and series from PBS.

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels...more.
New York Times Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
1851-present. Use this link to register for a SLU NYT online account using your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address.

Accounts provide SLU students, faculty, and staff with subscriber access to NYTimes.com or the NYT app. Student subscriptions are valid through the graduation date entered at sign-up. Faculty/staff subscriptions are valid for four years. Renew at accessnyt.com

For more information about registration, renewal, and available content see our NYT guide.
Wall Street Journal Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
The SLU Libraries provide WSJ memberships to all SLU students, faculty, and staff. Readers have complete and personalized digital access to The Wall Street Journal and the WSJ app....more.

Helpful Websites for finding Videos and Podcasts

NPR
NPR includes videos, articles, and podcasts on current issues.
TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics--from science to business to global issues--in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.