This link allows you to search three of the most useful databases for this class at one time. All include relevant scholarly articles and related content. Sociological Abstracts focuses on sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines, including criminal justice, social issues, and issues of race and gender. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts focuses on political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. PAIS Index has a policy focus and includes public policy, public administration, economics, law and more.
Use this "mega" database to search nearly 100 of the Library's databases at once, including JSTOR, Political Affairs index, Academic Search Complete, Social Science Citation Index and more. In addition to scholarly journal articles, SLUth includes ebooks, magazine and newspaper articles. Some major databases such as PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts are not included.
PolicyMap is a multi-disciplinary interactive online mapping and visualization tool that provides access to data, including, demographic, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, and health. Use it to create maps, tables, and graphs for a variety of research purposes, including, market analysis, business planning, site analysis, demographic profiles, policy briefs, and grant applications.
1790-present. The tool provides easy mapping and report creation functions for U.S. Census data on population and housing, as well as statistics on religion, crime and health, and selected elections data.
The Statistical Abstract of the U.S. includes brief statistics on almost every topic. The focus is on the U.S. but some international statistics are included. This is a great source to start with to find which agency or organization has collected more in-depth statistics.
Search USA.gov searches .gov, .mil, .us and selected other domains that include official local, regional, state and federal government agencies as well as quasi governmental agencies such as the Smithsonian. Search for official information from St. Louis City or other localities around the country. NOTE: Does not search local government websites using .com domains such as St. Louis County.
The Congressional Research Service is a nonpartisan agency that produces research reports and briefs on major policy issues and any topic requested by a member of Congress. This official site is publicly available and includes recent reports. SLU database ProQuest Congressional includes historical reports going back to 1914.
Reports from the Government Accountability Office. This nonpartisan agency"examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, reliable information to help the government save money and work more efficiently."
The National Council of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. Provides bill tracking databases on a variety of subjects for all bills at the state level. See also the topics in the "Research" section for summary information on legislation and policy being considered in multiple states.
Includes full-text CRS reports from 1914-present. Use the Advanced search to limit your search to only CRS reports. In addition to CRS Reports, this database includes legislative histories, full-text of Congressional hearings, political news, congressional social media, member profiles and more.
Mission: "to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense." Considered conservative.
Mission: "seeks to improve the human condition by advancing ideas that promote economic opportunity and prosperity, while securing and safeguarding peace for America and all mankind." Considered conservative leaning.
Mission: to develop "solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous." Unlike many think tanks, RAND Corporation started as a government contractor for the U.S. Air Force and continues to produce both federally funded and privately funded research. It is nonprofit. Considered independent.
Think Tanks & news sources often have a perspective through which they see the world. That doesn't mean they're not credible sources, but it's important to recognize what the perspective of a source is, and take that into account when you analyze it. Ideally, you'll have sources from multiple perspectives. Media Bias/Fact Check can help you figure out the perspective, potential bias, and credibility of Think Tanks and news sources.