Home - POLS 6330 - Intro to Public Finance Theory - Research Guides at Saint Louis University Libraries

This page includes selected resources for students in POLS 6330: Introduction to Public Finance Theory. I encourage you to make an appointment with your librarian for personalized suggestions, especially if you have trouble finding the information you need for your research.

Scholarly Articles & Working Papers

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1975-present. Find articles covering international issues in political science and related fields such as international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more on political science, public administration, economics, law, and topics that are or may become subjects of legislation.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, news articles, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
1886-present. Locate articles including empirical studies, book chapters, working papers, and more in this major index covering topics in economics. Produced by the American Economic Association. There are only four simultaneous users for this database.

IDEAS/RePEc - Economics and Finance Research
IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,100,000 items of research, including over 2,800,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
IMF Working Papers
Searchable database of working papers produced by the International Monetary Fund from 1986 to present.

Google Scholar @ SLU This link opens in a new window
Searches resources such as abstracts, journal articles, and reprints from many publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and other sources in a wide variety of discipline. Great source for citation searches.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1990-present. WOS consists of three databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded, all of which are citation indexes.

Government Information & Reports

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports - Official Site
The Congressional Research Service is a nonpartisan agency that produces research reports and briefs on major policy issues and any topic requested by a member of Congress. This official site is publicly available and includes recent reports. SLU database ProQuest Congressional includes historical reports going back to 1914.
Congressional Budget Office
"CBO's mandate is to provide the Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget and the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process."

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Includes many products of the legislative process (hearings, bills, committee prints, House and Senate documents) along with member information, voting records, financial disclosures, and CRS Reports from 1916-present.

USASpending.gov
USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Its mission is to show the American public what the federal government spends every year and how it spends the money. You can follow the money from the Congressional appropriations to the federal agencies and down to local communities and businesses.
Search USA.gov
Search USA.gov searches .gov, .mil, .us and selected other domains that include official local, regional, state and federal government agencies as well as quasi governmental agencies such as the Smithsonian.
Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine
If you're looking for international information, this custom Google search engine searches across 100s of IGO websites. IGOs searched included in this search are: World Bank, United Nations, Arab Monetary Fund, African Development Bank Group, IMF, Organization of American States, World Trade Organization, European Union, World Tourism Organization and many more.

Data & Statistics

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a multi-disciplinary interactive online mapping and visualization tool that provides access to data, including, demographic, spending, housing, quality of life, economy, health.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
This database contains more than 24,000 time series which can be downloaded and charted. Browse by category, or search by keyword. Produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, politics, education, technology and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources.

Census of Governments
"The Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships."
UNData
UNdata is a multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. The database also includes estimates and projections.
World Bank Data Catalog
Extensive catalog of international data, including economic and government debt data.

Access to Current News Sources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text of local, national, and international news sources. Includes the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and the New York Times.
Washington Post (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text Washington Post articles from 1987-present.
Wall Street Journal Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
SLU students, faculty and staff can activate their complimentary memberships by visiting this link, logging into the SLU school portal, and creating a WSJ account on the registration page. Readers have complete and personalized digital access to The Wall Street Journal and the WSJ app.
New York Times Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register for a SLU NYT online account using your @slu.edu email address. Accounts provide SLU students with subscriber access to NYTimes.com or the NYT app. Student subscriptions are valid through the graduation date entered at sign-up.

Citation Management Options

EndNote citation management software is available as a free software download to any SLU student, faculty or staff. Some researcher prefer one of the free citation management tools available. These tools often require payment for power users, so take that into account when deciding which tool best suits your needs!

EndNote Online
Considering EndNote but not ready for the time commitment of setting up & learning a new software? This free online resource allows you to easily save citations from a variety of databases and link back to the full-text. You can also use the cite while you write feature and import your citations into the EndNote software if you decide you need a more powerful citation manager.
EndNote download
This software is free to all SLU students. You will need to log in to download it. If needed, please contact IT service desk at 314-977-4000 or helpdesk@slu.edu.
more...less...
To learn about EndNote, go to EndNote tips, by Donghua Tao, Ph.D.
EndNote Tips
Guide with detailed EndNote tips maintained by Donghua Tao, SLU Libraries.
Zotero
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. Includes features for inserting citations as you write in both Google Docs and MS Word.
Citation Management Comparison Chart
Looking for the right tool? This chart from UCSD compares features in EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero.
Mendeley v. Zotero
This short video compares these two popular free citation management tools.