Research Guides: Women's & Gender Studies: Films

WGS-Focused Collections

The films in these collections are focused on Women's & Gender Studies topics.

LGBT Studies in Video (AVON)
Collection of LGBTQ+ focused films and documentaries (Part of Academic Video Online).
Women's & Gender Studies Films (AVON)

Streaming Film Collections

Search these streaming film collections by keyword or title to find films.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary video collection that includes the collection LGBT Studies in Video.
DigitalTheatre+ This link opens in a new window
Ground-breaking classic and contemporary theatre performances from some of the greatest performers and practitioners in the history of theatre.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video service for selected educational films from Films Media Group.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth & Fifth Editions This link opens in a new window
Streaming video documentaries and series from PBS.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
A streaming library of feature films, documentaries, foreign films, and television episodes content to complement the curriculum of any course. SLU Libraries has access to the Top 1,000 collection, as well as additional individual titles.

Now Streaming at SLU Libraries

RBG

At the age of 85, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg has developed a lengthy legal legacy while becoming an unexpected pop culture icon. Explore her unique and unknown personal journey of her rise to the nation's highest court.

Academy Award nominee. Official Selection at the Sundance Film Festival.

Picture a Scientist

A documentary film chronicling the groundswell of researchers who are writing a new chapter for women scientists

Dolores

Dolores Huerta is among the most important, yet least known, activists in American history. An equal partner in co-founding the first farm workers unions with Cesar Chavez, her enormous contributions have gone largely unrecognized. Dolores tirelessly led the fight for racial and labor justice alongside Chavez, becoming one of the most defiant feminists of the twentieth century.