Research Guides: ARTH 3140: Islamic Art and Society: Home

Find Background Information

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to start your research. Includes a combination of traditional reference sources, including Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Most entries include recommended books and articles for research on that topic. This database allows for 4-5 simultaneous users.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive, English-language reference source for all aspects of Islam and the Islamic world.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Images and descriptive data relating to works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century.....more
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more.

Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia by Josef W. Meri (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DS36.85 .M434 2006
Examines the socio-cultural history of the regions where Islam took hold between the seventh and sixteenth century. Available in the Pius Library reference collection on Lewis Annex Level 4.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: Pius Oversize N31 .E4833
Encyclopedia set containing entries on many aspects of art from all cultures. Offers brief entries and recommended further readings. Available on Level 5 East of Pius Library.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles and Books

Search for scholarly (aka peer reviewed) journal articles and scholarly books using SLUth Search Plus. It searches more than 100 library databases, including Art Full Text, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, JSTOR, Project Muse, ATLA Religion Database, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

Learn how to use SLUth Search Plus by watching this short video.

Bibliography of the History of Art is not included in SLUth Search Plus, so you'll need to search it separately. Note that it's an archive only and won't include the most recent scholarship on any given topic.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
1977-present. Includes journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins covering every type of art including advertising, antiques, history, computer art, graphic arts, and more....more.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
1975 - 2007. An archive only database as of April 2010, it combines Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) into a searchable whole. Coverage includes history of the fine, decorative, and applied arts in Europe and the New World from late antiquity to the present....more.

If you're looking specifically for books and ebooks, you might prefer using the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.

Look for books published by university presses and scholarly associations, written by authors with degrees and credentials in the field. Scholarly or academic books will also cite their sources and will have a lengthy list of references.

Learn how to find books on a topic using the SLU Libraries Catalog by watching this short video.

Cite Sources

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 17th ed. This link opens in a new window
Provides guidance in American English grammar, usage, and writing style in addiiton to examples of how to cite print and electronic publications. Both the 16th and 17th editions are available....more.

ARTH 3140: Islamic Art and Society

Interim Fine & Performing Arts Librarian

Find Background Information

Find Scholarly Journal Articles and Books

SLUth - Search Plus

Cite Sources