Research Guides: Clinical Resources for Physical Therapy and Athletic Training 2025: Evidence-Based Practice

Resources for Evidence-Based Practice

In addition to the Databases listed in this guide, these are excellent resources for Evidence-Based Practice.

Basic & Clinical Biostatistics, 5th ed.
This is a good review of study designs and common biostatistics.

PubMed Clinical Queries
This PubMed feature allows you to use search filters related to various types of clinical questions.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Freely available online. 1929-present. Abstracts for randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines related to physiotherapy.
TRIP Medical Database (Turning Research Into Practice)
Freely available online. 1997-present. Helps health professionals answer clinical questions by providing high-quality material to help support evidence-based practice.

The American Physical Therapy Association's Evidence-Based Practice Resources page:

These sites requre APTA membership:

Rehabilitation Measures Database
Database of outcome measures for rehabilitation patients; Includes evidence-based summaries of instruments including: description, psychometric properties (e.g. reliability, minimal clinically meaningful difference), instructions, if available a copy of the instrument, or information to obtain the instrument, representative bibliography with citations linked to PubMed abstracts; Database can be searched using area of assessment, diagnosis, length of test, and cost; Includes modules and webinars to learn about measurement
Stroke Engine
Database of interventions and outcome measures for individuals who have had a stroke which includes rating of evidence quality and consistency; Includes database of stroke assessment instruments with in-depth review of instrument, summary table, psychometric properties, and the test or measure; Includes information for individuals with stroke and their families