Research Guides: CORE 1000-37 The Power of Communication Brammer 2024 Fall: Start with Reference Resources

Assignment Databases

Don't start with Wikipedia and/or Google! Begin with published resources from one of the SLU Library Database Collections. Remember, these are subscription resources that require a sign on with your SLU ID and password.

Assignment Databases:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
10/25/1991-present. Each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth. Use it to find research topic ideas, refine a topic, or get background information on a topic.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for topics in the media by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series; journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; statistics; and more.

Reference resources can provide a variety of shorter, objective resources to help define the topic and/or specific terms for the topic.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
2007-2014. Currently consists of 173 encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries with copyright dates of 2007 through 2014. Subjects covered are primarily in the social sciences with some health-related topics.
ScienceDirect Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Search or browse a growing number of encyclopedias in the sciences and social sciences.

You might also want to look at current news, magazine, and academic journal articles:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1887-present. This multidisciplinary and multi-format database indexes and abstracts over 17,800 magazines and journals with more than 8,500 periodicals containing some full text. Over 15,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed.
SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary discovery tool that searches over 130 databases, the SLU Library Catalog, SLU Digital Collections, and journal content from multiple publishers. Find articles, books, videos, and more.