Law and Order in Films and Documentaries

Acting under the cover of a Hollywood producer scouting a location for a science fiction film, a CIA agent launches a dangerous operation to rescue six Americans in Tehran during the U.S. hostage crisis in Iran in 1979.source: IMDB online database

In this historical drama set during the Cold War, a Brooklyn attorney is tasked with negotiating a prisoner exchange between an American pilot who was shot down over the USSR and a Soviet spy serving a 45-year sentence for espionage against the U.S.source: SWANK database

The true story of Captain Richard Phillips and the 2009 hijacking by Somali pirates of the U.S.-flagged MV Maersk Alabama, the first American cargo ship to be hijacked in two hundred years. source: IMDB online database

Paul Rusesabagina, a hotel manager, houses over a thousand Tutsi refugees during their struggle against the Hutu militia in Rwanda, Africa. source: IMDB online database

This Best Picture nominee is set in 1948 Nuremberg, Germany, where an aging American judge presides over the trials of Nazi defendants charged with war crimes against humanity. Maximilian Schell, as a defense attorney, won Best Actor, and Abby Mann was awarded the Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar. source: SWANK database

Fact-based story about an American woman (Sally Field) trapped in Iran by her Muslim husband (Alfred Molina). Mahtob: Sheila Rosenthal. Houssein: Roshan Seth. Nicole: Sarah Badel. Ameh: Mony Rey. Mohsen: Georges Corraface. Directed by Brian Gilbert. source: SWANK database

Post-WWII Germany: Nearly a decade after his affair with an older woman came to a mysterious end, law student Michael Berg re-encounters his former lover as she defends herself in a war-crime trial. source: IMDB online database

Maria Altmann, an octogenarian Jewish refugee, takes on the Austrian government to recover artwork she believes rightfully belongs to her family. source: IMDB online database

A chronicle of the decade-long hunt for al-Qaeda terrorist leader Osama bin Laden after the September 2001 attacks, and his death at the hands of the Navy S.E.A.L.s Team 6 in May 2011. source: IMDB online database