EndNote Tips

The database providers, ejournals, and ejournal collections listed below (and more) are available to the SLU Community and support a Direct Export to EndNote. 

The EndNote program and EndNote Library where you will store your references should be open.

The general Direct Export procedure follows.

• Use the FireFox browser for one-click imports or the Chrome browser for two-click imports.
• Select or mark desired references
• Click any option that indicates you want to Download, Save, or Export those references (terminology varies by vendor or database).
• Select the EndNote format when prompted.
• Click Download, Export, Send, etc. (terminology varies by vendor or database).
• In File Download pop-up box, click Open.  One of two things will happen
  • The references will be directly imported into EndNote.
    OR
  • You will be prompted to Choose an import filter for the database and then the references will be directly imported into EndNote

ACM Digital Library - References can only be saved/imported in correct format one at a time.  Abstract is not imported.

      Follow instructions below.

• Display each individual record you want to save.
• In the Tools and Resources section, click EndNote, under Export Formats:

• In Export Formats box, click Download
• In pop-up box, select Open with and EndNote X5 (or EndNote X4) depending upon your program
• Click OK

BioMedCentral - Free

• Mark references
• Click Send (selected items, this page, or all results) to EndNote (no abstracts) or EndNote + Abstracts
• In File Download pop-up box, click Open (all selected references will go directly into EndNote) 

BioOne

• Mark references
• Click Download to Citation Manager
• Select the EndNote format, and be sure the Direct import box is checked
• Click Download article citation data button
• In File Download pop-up box, click Open (all selected references will go directly into EndNote) 

Chadwyck-Healey Databases - Early English Books Online, Patrologia Latina

     Follow the instructions below.

• Click Marked List, then Download Citations
• Click Export directly to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager
• In File Download pop-up box, click Open (all selected references will go directly into EndNote) 

EBSCOhost Databases - Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, ATLA Religion Database, Business Source Premier, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Communication and Mass Media Complete, EconLit, Education Source, ERIC, Historical Abstracts, Humanities International, Index to Legal Periodicals, MLA International Bibliography, Social Work Abstracts, SportDISCUS with Full Text, Women's Studies International, and MORE.

      Follow instructions below.

• DynaMed Plus is the one exception that will not do a Direct Export to EndNote
• For the others
  • Place selected references in a folder. Click on Folder to get to the saved references.
  • Select the items in the folder that you want to export. Click on Export icon.
  • Under Save Citations to a file formatted for, select Direct Export to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager
  • Click Save.

Emerald  Full Text Journals

• Complete search and click View all ### results
• Check desired references
• Click GO to add to marked list.
• Click Marked Lists in left-hand column to display selected items
• Click Select All
• Click
• Under Export Options, click Export to EndNote, Reference Manager
• Set pop-up box at Open with, and click OK
  • DOI does not appear in the correct field.  You will have to move it to the field for the DOI.

FirstSearch Database - WorldCat

• Click Export button; then Export to EndNote
• In File Download pop-up, select Open, then choose the proper filter for the database.
• For example, if you are searching ArticleFirst, highlight the ArticleFirst filter and click Choose.

Gale Databases - Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literary Criticism Online, Business Insights: Essentials (exports ONE citation at a time), and the Economist Historical Archive (exports ONE citation at a time) will behave something like the instructions below.

     Book Review Index, Business & Company ASAP, and The Times Digital Archive cannot be exported and then imported into EndNote.

    Follow instructions below for the Gale databases that WILL export to EndNote.

• Mark references you want.
• Click Marked Items link at top left of screen to see list of all marked records.
• Click Citation tools button just above the full entry or saved citations list.  The Citation tools button may appear as an icon near the top of the page or  to the upper right of the complete entry.  Examples are and
• Click EndNote option in the Generate-a-Citation pop-up box.
• Click Export to third-party software button and made sure that EndNote is selected.
• In File Download pop-up box, click Open (all selected references will go directly into EndNote)

Google Scholar - Will export ONE reference at a time.

• Go to Scholar Preferences at http://scholar.google.com/scholar_preferences?hl=en
• Find Bibliography Manager at the bottom
• Set Show links to import citations into at EndNote
• Click Save Preferences button.

JSTOR

• Search your topic and mark references
• Click  at top right of results list
• Select a format:  RIS file (For EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, RefWorks, Zotero...)
• In pop-up box, select Open with "ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper (default)" or find your EndNote executable program
• Click OK

LexisNexis Academic - Allows direct export to EndNote; however, look carefully at what is imported.  You may get many blank fields and items in incorrect fields.

• • Allows direct export of one or more citations.
  • Click on Export Bibliographic References icon  in upper-right corner.
  • Select "Download Bibliographic Data for other generators, e.g. EndNote"
  • Click Export button
  • Make sure Open with is click Open in pop-up box.

Ovid Databases - Biological Abstracts, HealthStar, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, Journals@Ovid

     Follow instructions below.

      --Click Export icon located at the top right of the results list.

           Select Fields to Display (Export)

           Click Export Citations button.

ProQuest Databases - ABI/INFORM, BioOne Abstracts & Indexes, Historical Newspapers Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, New York Times, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch,  LLBA, PAIS International, Periodicals Archive Online, Periodicals Index Online, PILOTS Database, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

      Follow instructions below.

• Select references
• Click  link on results page.
• Select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)
• Click Continue
• In pop-up box, select Open and click OK

PubMed - Direct export using FireFox browser

• Select references and click the down "Send to" arrow.

• In next pop-up box, select Open, and click OK
• Click PubMed (NLM) filter and click Choose
• References will import into EndNote.

Readex - American State Papers, U.S. Congressional Serial Set

• Display individual record
• Click Export Citation

ScienceDirect - Collection of science, technology, and medical journals.

• Select references
• Click  to export your references
• Select Export file type (RIS for EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite) and Content (Citations Only or Citations and Abstracts)
• Click Export button

SciFinder Scholar (Web)

• Mark selected references.
• Click Export (upper right-hand corner)
• In Export box
  • Export: - All, Selected, Range
  • Under For: select Citation export format (*.ris)
  • Click Export
• In pop-up box, select Open with
• Click OK
  • If you use a style other than ACS, you may need to edit your references for extraneous information.

Scopus - Indexes over 16,500 peer-reviewed journals

     Follow instructions below.

• Select references
• Click  button near top of references list
• Set Reference Format to RIS format (for EndNote, Reference Manager)
• Select information to export

• Click Export button