Research Guides: Aviation Science: Aviation Specific Databases and Links

Aviation Specific Databases and Links

Looking for Aviation specific databases and links? These are great places to start.

Other good Aviation specific databases can be found here by going to the library homepage. Here are the steps to find them:

Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN)
1997-present. Browse any of the publications marked by a green checkmark, in the left-hand navigation column by clicking on the title. Use the quick search box or the Advanced Search to search all publications.

Airlines for America
Membership includes major U.S. air carriers. Airlines for America (A4A) advocates on behalf of its members to shape crucial policies and measures that promote safety, security and a healthy U.S. airline industry.
Airports Council International
Airports Council International (ACI) is the only global trade representative of the world’s airports. The site includes air traffic statistics.
CAPA Glossary
Centre for Aviation glossary of industry terms and acronyms.
Federal Aviation Regulations
Code of Federal Regulations F.A.R.s from Proquest Congressional database
FAA Handbooks & Manuals (Aircraft, Aviation, Examiners & Inspectors)
* Aircraft Weight and Balance Handbook (PDF)
* Airplane Flying Handbook
* Amateur-built Aircraft & Ultralight Flight Testing Handbook (PDF)
* Aviation Maintenance Technician Handbook - General
* Balloon Flying Handbook (PDF)
* Glider Flying Handbook
* Parachute Rigger Handbook (PDF)
* Rotorcraft Flying Handbook (PDF)
* Seaplane, Skiplane, and Float/Ski Equipped Helicopter Operations Handbook
* Weight-Shift Control Aircraft F
National Transportation Safety Board
Home page of the NTSB, with an Accident Synopsis database, updated daily, containing brief accident data from 1962 to the present.

TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database
Freely available online. 1960s-present. TRID combines the US Transportation Research Information Services database with the worldwide International Transport Research Documentation database to locate transportation information.