Research Guides: Economics: Historical Sources

Relevant Databases

These subscription databases include significant content related to the history of business and commerce as well as economic thought.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century (1701-1800), along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Cross-searchable with EBBO....more.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more.
JSTOR
JSTOR archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Economist Historical Archive
1843-2010. Search through 160 years of the digital archive of The Economist (London) by keyword or browse by date. All articles, financial tables, special reports, surveys, and advertising are searchable and available in full color.
Journal of Economic History
Journal devoted to the multidisciplinary study of economics and history; topics include: money & banking, trade, manufacturing, technology, transportation, industrial organization, and more.

Library of Congress - World Economic History Resources
This page contains online and print resources dedicated to the study of the history of the world economy, economic thought, and the origins of various economic theories.