Anti-Slavery in the United States

This digital collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society contains primary source American slavery and abolition materials in the form of over 3,500 printed books, pamphlets, graphics, and ephemera in full color....more.

1780-1925. Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more….more.

Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1994), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), and The New York Times (1851-2014)...more.

19th Century newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States... more.

1785-1985. Search the first 200 years of The Times (London) and display and print page images of individual articles or an entire page....more.

1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.

This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Search across all content or select one of the collections....more.

This HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes "every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery."....more.

Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society...more.

United States legislative and executive documents, 1789-1838, published in the second to third quarters of the 19th Century....more.

Access to U.S. legislative information in addition to bill tracking from 1989- , full text for bills and resolutions from 1789-present, legislative histories from 1969- as well as selected committee prints, hot bills and topics, congressional testimony, committee reports, House and Senate documents, voting records in Congress, and member information including financial disclosures and campaign contributions. The Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, available from the Advanced Search tab, includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-2016. Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports are also available from 2004 to present.....more.

Search reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1994 (15th-103rd Congress)….more.

1800-1926. Brings together 19th and early 20th Century U.S. and British legal research documents. Courtesy of the Immel Law Library.....more.

Provides U.S. Supreme Court Records and lawyers' briefs (a statement of a case, including its factual and legal arguments) from 1832-1978. Courtesy of the Immel Law Library….more.

1600-1926. Provides trial books from many countries and in many languages although most are in English and published in Great Britain or the U.S. The content describes courtroom dramas that scandalized society in America, the British Empire and the world....Courtesy of the Immel Law Library....more.