3c61a8dfa"> Skip to main content

Studio Art

Library Research Portal for Studio Art

Finding Books

To find books on the topic of your choice, the best place to start is the Library Catalog.  Here you can search using keywords to find titles in the library. For instance, if you wanted to find a book on photographs in the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC, you could simply use the search, "photography and National Gallery of Art."  If you have a specific book you are looking for, try the title search or the author search.

When you have found the book you want, write down the call number or send it to you phone via text message.  Then, consult a guide to locating materials in Pius library to see where the item is located.  You can find that guide here along with maps for each floor.

Finding Articles

The default search on the libraries' homepage is a great place to start if you want to do an extensive search across disciplines and types of materials.  We call this search SLUth and you can access it directly here.  This tool helps to search across many of our research databases and will search art and art-related resources along with other areas of study.  It also searches across different types of resources, such as academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.  This makes it a great tool when in search of information on contemporary artists and exhibitions.

If you wanted to do a more comprehensive search on a contemporary artist or exhibition, you can also search LexisNexis Academic.  This database includes over 10,000 newspapers and magazines from around the world and is your go-to source for finding exhibition reviews on current and recent shows.

Sometimes it's best to focus your search solely on art-related resources.  The research database Art Full Text is the place to go for searching only art and art-related resources.  Here you will find citations from over 350 journals and magazines that focus on the visual arts.

If you are just looking for a place to look up terms, techniques, or simple biographical information on established artists, Oxford Art Online is the best resources for this type of information.  This database includes The Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.  Many of the entries in this database have recommended reading lists to point you in the direction of other resources to help you explore further.