Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre

Library Research Guide for Theatre Arts

Bibliographies

American Theatre History:
An Annotated Bibliography
.
(Thomas J. Taylor. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1992.)

Organized primarily by chronological period and author, this bibliography provides descriptions for each source listed. Books, articles, and general information on periodicals are listed.

Bibliography of Medieval Drama.
Lvl 4 West - PN1751 .S8 1972
(Carl Joseph Stratman. New York: F. Ungar, 1972.)
blank space
Bibliography of scholarly and historical sources on Medieval plays and productions. Organized by liturgical and present-day national boundaries/cultures.

International Bibliography of Theatre.
(American Society for Theatre Research. New York: Theatre Research Data Center, 1982-1999.)

Organized into two main sections (class and subject), this bibliography provides citations to articles, books, and authors, among a few added entries.

Modern Drama: Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980: An International Bibliography
Modern Drama: Scholarship and Criticism, 1981-1990: An International Bibliography
.
(Charles A. Carpenter. Toronto: Toronto University Press, 1996, 1997.)

This 2-volume set provides citations to a selective list of publications produced from 1966-1990.

Shakespeare and the Renaissance Stage to 1616:
Shakespearean Stage History 1616 to 1998:
An Annotated Bibliography of Shakespeare Studies, 1576-1998
.
Lvl 4 North - PR3095 .S47 1999
(Hugh Macrae Richmond, ed. Asheville, NC: Pegasus Press, 1999.)

Bibliography of Shakepearean productions and their history from the 16th through the 20th century.

United States Theatre:
A Bibliography from the Beginning to 1990.

(Robert Silvester. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993.)

The second volume in a series, it organized by culture and restricted to English-language productions and texts. Includes citations to productions, plays published, and critical analysis.