Bradley, James E. and Richard A. Muller. Church History: An Introduction to Research Methods and Resources. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2016.
Ref. BR138.B69 2016
See pp. 106 for a (very) brief discussion of primary sources and pp. 250-259 for a partially annotated bibliography of reference titles many of which are not listed in this web guide.
Fraker, Anne T., ed. Religion and American Life: Resources. Urbana and Chicago: University of Illinois Press, 1989.
A now somewhat dated, selective, annotated bibliography of books (including reference works and monographs) and articles deemed of particular significance for the question of religion's influence on American life. Especially valuable for the lengthy annotations. See also the "Introduction" for a discussion of this bibliography in relation to other similar bibliographies, many of which are included in this web guide.
Johnston, William M. Recent Reference Books in Religion: A Guide for Students, Scholars, Researchers, Buyers & Readers. Rev. ed. Chicago and London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998.
Ref. BL48.J654 1998.
See pp. 112-130 (passim) for interesting discussion of general theological reference works which include coverage of North America, selected denomination resources are discussed on pp. 153-155, and fourteen recently published reference works focusing specifically on religion in North America are discussed on pp. 190-200. Overall, the emphasis is on titles published after 1970.
Kepple, Robert J. and John R. Muether. Reference Works for Theological Research. 3rd ed. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 1991.
Ref. BR118.R44 1991
The following sections list and annotate bibliographies of particular relevance: Ch. 4, pp. 20-22, “Religious/Theological Handbooks and Directories” (American); Ch. 5, p 26, "Directories of Universities, Colleges, and Libraries" (American Libraries); Ch. 6, pp. 29-31, "Biographical Sources" (American); Ch. 9, "U.S.A. Bibliography;" Ch. 11, pp. 57-59, "Periodical Indexes: General Coverage (American); Ch. 31, "American Church History"
McCabe, James Patrick. Critical Guide to Catholic Reference Books. 3rd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1989.
Ref. BX1751.2.M3 1989
The following sections list and annotate bibliographies particular relevance: Ch. 1, pp. 44-47, "General Works" (Biography/American); Ch. 4, pp. 193-196, "Social Sciences" (Statistics/National Yearbooks and Directories/America); Ch. 5, "American Church History.”
Sandeen, Ernest R. and Frederick Hale. American Religion and Philosophy: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1978.
A now out-of-date but still useful reference bibliography of secondary and key primary documents relating to all aspects of American religious and philosophical history; intended as a supplement and updating of Nelson Burr's Critical Bibliography of Religion in America (see below under Bibliographies--Miscellaneous). Particularly valuable for the evaluative (and not simply descriptive) annotations.
Wilson, John F. And Thomas P. Slavens. Research Guide to Religious Studies. Chicago: American Library Association, 1982.
See “American Religious History,” pp. 77-88.
Blazek, Ron and Anna
H. Perrault. United States History: A Selective Guide to Information
Sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, Inc., 1994.
Part I is an annotated bibliography of "Sources of General Importance to U.S. History" including lists of historical organizations, bibligraphies, dictionaries and encyclopedias, statistics and demographics sources, atlases and biographical sources. Part II consists of six chapters each dealing with specific topics and issues: "Politics and Government" (Ch. 2), "Diplomatic History and Foreign Affairs" (Ch. 3), "Military History" (Ch. 4), "Social, Cultural, and Intellectual History" (Ch. 5), "Regional History" (Ch. 6), and "Economic History" (Ch. 7). The section on "Religion" (pp. 258-274) in Ch. 5 offers fuller annotations for many of the main reference sources on this web guide.
Norton, Mary Beth,
general editor and Pamela Gerardi, associate editor. The American
Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. 3rd ed.
2 vols. New York, Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Each chapter begins with a brief essay followed by an classified, annotated bibliography "of the finest and most useful books and articles available in every field of historical scholarship" (from the Introduction). Several chapters on American history in vol. 2.
Parish, Peter, J.,
ed. Reader’s Guide to American History. London and
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
A collection of about 600 essays on books deemed of special significance and relating to a variety of topics on American history. Each entry begins with a list of books to be discussed. A “Thematic List” of entries begins on p. xxi; categories include periods of American history; political, economic, and social history; and specific topics (see topics under “Religion” on p. xxxiii.
Prucha, Francis Paul. Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. Rev. 2nd ed. Lincoln, NB and London: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
Intended as an introductory guide to basic reference works needed by historians doing advanced reading and research. Revised edition includes material on electronic information sources.
Slavens, Thomas P. Sources of Information for Historical Research. New York and London: Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc., 1994.
Annotated bibliography of historical sources not limited to U.S. or American history, especially valuable for arrangement by Library of Congress classification system and the inclusion with each annotation of one or more subject headings for the item annotated.