Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Church History

This guide lists encyclopedia and bibliographic resources for the study of American church history, including both Catholicism and Protestant denominations.

Religious/Theological

Bowden, Henry Warner. Dictionary of American Religious Biography. 2nd ed., rev. and enlarged. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993.
     Ref. BL72.B68 1993

Byrne, Pamela R. And Susan K. Kinnell, eds. People and Religion in North America: Summaries of Biographical Articles in History Journals. Santa Barbara, CA; Oxford, England: ABC-CLIO, 1988.
     BL2525.P46 1988

Dupree, Sherry Sherrod. Biographical Dictionary of African-American, Holiness-Pentecostals 1880-1990. Washington, DC: Middle Atlantic Regional Press, 1989.
     Ref. BX8762.Z8D86 1989

Elwell, Walter A., ed. Handbook of Evangelical Theologians. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1993.
     Ref. BR1640.H363 1993

Hall, Timothy L., ed. American Religious Leaders. New York: Facts on File, 2003.
     Ref. BL72.H33 2003

Holte, James Craig. The Conversion Experience in America: A Sourcebook on Religious Conversion Autobiography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
     BV4930.H65 1992

Lewis, Donald M. Blackwell Dictionary of Evangelical Biography 1730-1860. 2 vols. Oxford: Blackwell, 1995.
     Ref. BR1640.B53 1995
See listing by country at back of vol. 2.

Lippy, Charles H., ed. Twentieth-Century Shapers of American Popular Religion. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
     Ref. BL2525.T84 1989

Melton, J. Gordon. Biographical Dictionary of American Cult and Sect Leaders. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1986.
     Ref. BL2525.M448 1986

_____. Religious Leaders of America. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 1999.
     Ref. BL72.R444 2nd ed

Who's Who in Religion. 4th ed. Wilmette, IL: Marquis Who's Who, 1992.
     Ref. BL2530 .U6 W48

Williams, Ethel L. Biographical Directory of Negro Ministers. 3rd ed. Boston: G.K. Hall & Co., 1975.
     BR563.N4W5 1975

Historical

American National Biography. 24 vols. Ref. CT213.A68 1999

Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography. CT213.C36 1995

Concise Dictionary of American Biography. 5th ed. 2 vols. E176.C73 1997

Dictionary of American Biography. 11 vols. + suppls. Ref. E176.D562 1964

Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives. 7 vols. Ref. CT213.S37 1998