Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Studies

A guide designed for students taking courses in African American Studies

Where is my article?

If the article is in the database you will see one of these icons. 

underneath  the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article.

HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer broswer.

Otherwise you will use the

button

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Types of Resources

There are different resources for different information needs.

  • Reference Books includes encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. These types of books may be useful as you are exploring background knowledge, understanding disciplinary terminology, and fact-checking.  Reference books can be in print and/or electronic format.
  • Books are found in the online library catalog and most circulate with three-week borrowing periods.  in addition to traditional books the library has a large collection of ebooks.
  • Article Databases are used for finding journal articles. Some of the databases contain general articles on many subjects, while some are more subject specific.
  • Statistics are useful to support an argument or making predictions.
  • Media can provide visual examples and explanations.  Do a keyword search in the library catalog using "dvd" and your topic.
  • Recommended Web Sites lists specialized academic search portals, state and federal government web sites, and more freely available web sites handy for education research.

Important Resources for Research

These resources are good for articles, primary sources, charts, timelines, and biographies.