It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Part of the Oxford African American Studies Center, this encyclopedia contains biographical entries describing the influence persons of African descent had and are still having on the U.S.
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Includes publications, contextual material, images, and video clips, as well as 3 indexes covering the Black experience. The Chicago Defender is cross-searchable with the Black Studies Center....more.
This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Search across all content or select one of the collections....more.
This digital collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society contains primary source American slavery and abolition materials in the form of over 3,500 printed books, pamphlets, graphics, and ephemera in full color....more.
1780-1925. Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more….more.
This HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes "every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery."....more.
