Research Guides: Geographic Information Science: General Information

Best Bets to Start Your Research

Need an article quickly or don't know where to start? Try SLUth Search Plus for journal articles and LexisNexis Academic for newspaper articles.

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use this "mega" database to search over 50 of the Library's databases at once! SLUth is especially good for interdisciplinary topics and includes access to academic and popular journal articles, eBooks and more.
Google Scholar @ SLU This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly resources such as abstracts, journal articles, and reprints from many publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines. Links to resources available to current SLU students, faculty, and staff display next to the references when on campus.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This is one of the largest abstract and citation databases. It indexes/abstracts over 16,500 titles from over 4,000 international publishers. Content includes peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series, and conference papers. This database is particularly strong in science, engineering, technology, and medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database indexes thousands of research journals from hundreds of disciplines and allows you to track citations to find more relevant articles.

Google is great, but it includes EVERYTHING. Try the search engines below to search only for government information.

Search USA.gov
Search USA.gov searches .gov, .mil, .us and selected other domains that include official local, regional, state and federal government agencies as well as quasi governmental agencies such as the Smithsonian.
Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine
If you're looking for international information, this custom Google search engine searches across 100s of intergovernmental organization (IGO) websites.