Research Guides: Industry Research: Industry & Market Research

Industry Databases

Good starting points for industry research.

IBISWorld
Profiles of over 700 United States industries, including small service industries and major industry sectors

Statista
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, politics, education, technology and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources...more.
MERGENT Online
Enter and choose your company. Click on the Reports tab. Choose Industry Reports. Select from the list.
Standard & Poors Global Market Intelligence
Choose the 'Industry Surveys' tab. Then choose the filter symbol in the Headline column, and enter your keywords (see example below). Hit 'Apply Filters' to access reports.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Click the "Browse" tab to access industry reports. You may also search by keyword.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies. It includes periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews and case studies...more.

Mintel
Offers reports focused on the US and European marketplace. Each market research report provides analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.

Frost & Sullivan
Industry and technology research reports covering US and international markets in areas such as information & communication technology, healthcare, automotive & transportation, aerospace & defense, measurement & instrumentation, chemicals, materials, energy, industrial automation...more.
BizMiner
Bizminer offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. The market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code....more.
RKMA Market Research Handbook Series
These business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analyses, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld offers comprehensive market research reports on more than 700 US industries. Additionally, more than 600 “super-niche” industries (small and new industries) are covered.
Passport - Global Market Information Database
Provides global business research intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers.

MERGENT Archives
Choose Industry Reports on left.
International Strategic Analysis
Country Intelligence and International Market Analysis that includes country and region reports, and economic and risk forecasts...more.

North American Industry Classification System
NAICS codes are used to classify businesses by type, so that data for businesses in North America (i.e., the United States, Mexico, and Canada) can be presented and analyzed in a uniform manner. Codes are reviewed every five years to ensure their relevance, accuracy, and timeliness.