Direct link to the SLU AIAA full-text holdings including the Journal of Aircraft, Journal of Propulsion and Power, Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets, and several others. On-campus access only. On-campus access only. More comprehensive search can be done using the database Scopus
Can't find a volume of Airplane Design by Jan Roskam? No, it is not available full-text online, but all eight volumes are in the Reference stacks in print at Pius Library -- call number is TL671.2 .R67 1985
Part 1. Preliminary sizing of airplanes -- Part 2. Preliminary configuration design and integration of the propulsion system. -- Part 3. Layout design of cockpit, fuselage, wing and empennage: cutaways and inboard profiles. -- Part 4. Layout design of landing gear and systems. -- Part 5. Component weight estimation. -- Part 6. Preliminary calculation of aerodynamics, thrust and power characteristics -- Part 7. Determination of stability, control and performance characteristics: far and military requirements -- Part 8. Airplane cost estimation: design, development, manufacturing and operating.
1-2. Mathematical aids, fluid mechanics historical sketch, general aerodynamic theory, perfect fluids -- v. 3-4. Theory of single burbling, mechanics of viscous fluids, mechanics of compressible fluids, experimental methods, wind tunnels, applied airfoil theory, airplane body (non-lifting system) drag and influence on lifting system, airplane propellers, influence of the propeller on other parts of the airplane structure -- v. 5-6. Dynamics of the airplane, airplane performance, airplane as a whole, aerodynamics of airships, performance of airships, hydrodynamics of boats and floats, aerodynamics of cooling.
Topics covered include mechanics, propulsion, guidance and control, electronics and instrumentation, communications, computer science, systems engineering, material science, fabrication and manufacturing, and physics.
You can increase the accuracy and effectiveness of your searches on Google Scholar by adding "operators" that fine-tune your search terms. In some cases, you can add operators right in the Google Scholar search box; other times, you'll want to use the Advanced Scholar Search page.
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. Includes IEEE Spectrum (1964-present). Use the Citation Search to locate a known item....more
Annual directory of civil and military aircraft, descriptions include histories, technical and performance specifications, photographs and diagrams. Ten years of print volumes in the library TL501 .J3 (oversize), previous editions at Locust Street Library Facility.
Includes articles covering theoretical, computational and experimental investigations of all aspects of the mechanics of fluids. Each issue contains papers on both the fundamental aspects of fluid mechanics, and their applications to other fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemical and mechanical engineering, hydraulics, meteorology, oceanography, geology, acoustics and combustion.
This journal publishes papers in the areas of aerodynamics, boundary layers, bubbly flows, cavitations, compressible flows, convective heat transfer, duct and pipe flows, free shear layers, flows in biological systems, fluid-structure interaction, fluid transients and wave motion, jets, multiphase flows, naval hydrodynamics, sprays, stability and transition, turbulence, and wakes. In addition, contributions to the Journal emphasize investigative techniques, analytical methods, computational fluid mechanics, and experimental methods like laser-Doppler velocimetry, and hot film and hot wire anemometry.
NTRS provides access to NASA's current and historical (NACA) aerospace research and engineering documents. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos.
* NACA Collection: Citations and reports from the NACA Technical Report Server (TRS), http://naca.larc.nasa.gov, are now in NTRS. The NACA TRS site is retired and no longer in service following the consolidation of citations and reports into NTRS. The NACA collection is historical information from the NACA period lasting from 1915 to 1958.
* NASA Collection: Citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA. The NASA collection time period starts in 1958 and continues to the present.
* NIX Collection: Citations and images, photos, movies and videos downloaded from the NASA Image eXchange and served out through NTRS. NIX is a separate system and users can go directly to the NIX to search imagery as well as through NTRS.
The Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics, in publication since 1969, covers the significant developments in the field of fluid mechanics, including history and foundations; non-newtonian fluids and rheology; incompressible and compressible fluids; plasma flow; stability of flow; multi-phase flows; mixing and transport of heat and species; control of fluid flow; combustion; turbulence; shock waves and explosions.
A comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America where you can: place orders online; view and download millions of computer aided design (CAD) drawings; view thousands of online company catalogs and websites. Search by: Product or service, company name, or, brand name and limit by geographic location.
SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.
* Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts
* Nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
* 70% of content is pulled from international sources
* Includes over 3 million conference papers
* Provides 100% Medline coverage
* Offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize researc