Research Guides: Statistics Sources: Federal Statistics

U.S. Government Statistics - General

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
2013-present. The Statistical Abstract of the U.S. includes brief statistics on almost every topic. The focus is on the U.S. but some international statistics are included. This is a great source to start with to find which agency or organization has collected more in-depth statistics.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
1790-present. Provides easy mapping and report creation functions for U.S. Census data on population and housing, as well as statistics on religion, crime, health; census data from Canada and the UK; and European Union statistics.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a multi-disciplinary interactive online mapping and visualization tool that provides access to data, including, demographic, spending, housing, quality of life, economy, health, and more.

Census Data Site (Official)
Data.Census.gov is the official source for U.S. Census data. It offers a single search box interface for finding Census and ACS data. All new data will be released here. Documentation and how-to information from the Census
United States Census Bureau
The source for statistics gathered and made available by the United States government. Statistics include population and social & cultural demographics by all U.S. Census subdivisions such as United States, Metropolitan Statistical Areas, States, Counties, Places, Tracts, and Block Groups. Also includes Zip Codes, County Business Patterns, and more.
USA.gov : Data and Statistics
This is a searchable gateway to statistics from U.S. Federal agencies. Explore by topics or agencies.

These are a representative sample of the US Government agencies that have their own statistics and data sites.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
From the U.S. Department of Justice this site includes statistics for corrections, courts, crime types, law enforcement, victims, the Federal Justice System, and more by topic. Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) table building tool is available here.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
Includes statistics for Inflation & Prices, Employment, Unemployment, Pay & Benefits, Spending & Time Use, Productivity, Workplace Injuries, International Employment Projections, and more.
County and City Data Books 1944-1988, 1994, and 2000
Provides State, County, City, and Place data for the United States.
Consumer Price Indexes
Home page for Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) along with information about them and special reports.
National Agriculture Statistics Service
Find Quick Stats by State and/or County for crops, prices, demographics of workers,etc.; CropScape (geospatial representation of vegetation); and the 2012 Census of Agriculture.
National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES)
Includes statistics about public and private K-12 schools as well as higher education. Annual reports such as the Condition of Education and Digest of Educational Statistics are available here.

National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. From the Center for Disease Control & Prevention, the National Center for Health Statistics is a rich source of information and statistics about American health.

National Science Foundation: National Center for Science & Engineering Statistics
A potpourri of data related to various aspects of science and engineering such as education, business, and industry.
NOAA: National Climatic Data Center
Data on all aspects of climate.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice since 1973, this resource "brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States." Data included come from State and Federal agency reports, research centers, universities, private companies, and other organizations. The data selected meet two standards: (1) data must be national in scope or of nationwide importance and if possible, the data are displayed by regions, States, and cities; and (2) "data must be methodologically sound with respect to sampling procedures, data collection methods, estimation procedures, and reliability of the information." (text from site 10/22/2013)