Research Guides: Medieval and Early Modern Science and Medicine: Articles

Overview

Intended as an overview of available articles and journals. Grouped into the following categories:

Isis
Published by the University of Chicago Press for the History of Science Society
Early Science and Medicine
A journal for the study of science, technology and medicine in the pre-modern period.

Published by Brill
Galilæana : journal of Galilean studies
History of science
A review of literature and research in the history of science, medicine and technology in its intellectual and social context.
Osiris
Published by University of Chicago Press
Journal for the history of astronomy
Bulletin of the history of medicine
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press
Renaissance Quarterly
Published by the Renaissance Society of America

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). Indexes articles and review articles from about 4,500 journals, essays from Festschriften, conference proceedings, etc.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter indexes articles about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
JSTOR
This archival journal resource provides access to the full-text of over 1,100 journal titles, including many history journals. Note that the last 1 to 7 years of each journal are not available in this resource.
Project Muse
Full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and over 20 other not-for-profit presses in the areas of humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, focusing on 1450 to the present.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for more than 2,300 publications plus full-text for over 1,200 journals and some books and reference sources in the humanities.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
This database provides author and subject indexing of articles published worldwide in arts and humanities journals. Articles published from 1975-present.

"Alchemy and Politics in England 1649-1665." by J. Andrew Mendelsohn
Past and Present 135 (May 1992):30-78.
“Alchemy and Hermeticism: An Introduction to This Issue.” by Michela Pereira
Early Science and Medicine 5, no. 2 (2000): 115-120.

"Determinants of the revival of dissection of the human body in the Middle Ages" by Plinio Prioreschi
Medical Hypotheses 56, no 2 (2001):229-234
"Death and the Human Body in the Later Middle Ages: The Legislation of Boniface VII on the Division of the Corpse" by Elizabeth A. Brown
Viator: Medieval and Renaissance Studies 12 (1981): 221-270.
"The Criminal and the Saintly Body: Autopsy and Dissection in Renaissance Italy" by Katharine Park
Renaissance Quarterly 47, no. 1 (1994): 1-33.
“Public Anatomy Lessons and the Carnival: The Anatomy Theatre of Bologna.” by Giovanna Ferrari
Past & Present, 117 (1987): 50-106.
"A History of Anatomy Theaters in Sixteenth-Century Padua." by Cynthia Klestinec
Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences 59, (2004): 375-412.
"Innocent III and the Evolution of Anatomy" by Ynez Viole O'Neill
Medical History 20, no. 4 (1976): 429.
Andreas Vesalius and the Anatomy of Antique Sculpture by Glenn Harcourt
Representations 17 (1987): 28-38.

"Life in the liquid fields: Kepler, Tycho and Gilbert on the nature of the heavens and earth." by Patrick Boner
History of Science 46 (2008): 275-97
"Tycho Brahe's Copernican Campaign." by Owen Gingerich and James R. Voelkel
Journal for the History of Astronomy 29, no. 1 (1998): 1-34.
"Novelties in the heavens between 1572 and 1604 and Kepler's unified view of nature." by M.A. Granada
Journal for the History of Astronomy 40 (2009): 393-402.

"The Cosmology of Giordano Bruno" by Angus Armitage
Annals of Science 6 (1948): 24-31.
"Giordano Bruno: The Philosophy of Circles and the Circular Movement of the Blood" by Walter Pagel
Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences 6 (1951): 116-125

"Christopher Clavius and the Renaissance of Euclidean Geometry" by Frederick Homann
Archivum Historicum Societatis Jesu 52 (1983): 233-246.
“Medical Men and Medicine in the Correspondence of Athanasius Kircher,” by John Fletcher
Revue internationale de l'histoire des sciences, de la médecine, de la pharmacie, et de la technique 56 (1969): 259-77.
"Athanasius Kircher and the Progress of Medicine" by Harry Beal Torrey
Osiris 5 (1938): 246-75.

"Practicing Between Earth and Heaven: women healers in seventeenth-century Bologna" by Gianna Pomata
Dynamis 19 (1999):119-143.
"The Expurgation of Medical Books in Sixteenth Century Spain.” by Dov Front
Bulletin of the History of Medicine 75, no.2 (2001): 290-296.