Special Collections- Vatican Film Library : Databases

VFL Manuscripts on Microfilm Database
To discover whether a Vatican manuscript is included in the microfilm collection, use this database to search by Shelfmark. For example, Choose City: Vatican City; then Collection: Chig.; then Shelfmark: C.VIII.234.

Online digital library of manuscripts at the BAV. This project aims to digitize the entire library's collection of 80,000 codices (excluding archival units) mostly from the Middle Ages and Humanistic periods.

The online Manuscript Catalog of the Vatican Library provides recent bibliography for manuscripts but usually does not include descriptions of the manuscripts themselves. Best consulted for the discovery of secondary scholarship from ca. 2000-present, the list of reference works is useful but not complete.

Use an author search in the SLU Libraries Catalog for "Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana manuscript." The results will list records of BAV manuscripts in alphabetical order by Shelfmark. Please know that this list does not include all of the thousands of BAV manuscripts on microfilm which have not been cataloged. For these see the VFL Manuscripts on Microfilm database.

Here you will eventually be able to access more than 2,000 Latin manuscripts, as they are added one-by-one to the database. The originals are almost all kept in the Vatican. Since 2001, Heidelberg University Library has been working on several projects that aim to digitize parts of this great collection, the final goal being a complete virtual reconstruction of the the Bibliotheca Palatina, the 'mother of all libraries'

Part of the ambitious digitization project at the University of Heidleberg, here you will eventually be able to access more than 2,000 Greek manuscripts, as they are added one-by-one to the database. The originals are almost all kept in the Vatican.

MANUS is an aggregate database containing catalogue descriptions and digital images of manuscripts, private papers and archives held by various Italian public, private and ecclesiastical libraries. The census, launched by ICCU - Istituto Centrale per il Catalogo Unico - in the 1980s, aims to list and catalogue manuscripts written in Latin alphabet from the Middle Ages to date, including private papers and literary archives. MANUS allows different levels of description, from short entries - even derived from older catalogues -, to detailed first-hand descriptions complying with the standards set by the Guida a una descrizione uniforme dei manoscritti e al loro censimento, V. Jemolo and M. Morelli eds., Roma, ICCU, 1990.

The online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum. Originally published in six volumes, between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.

Pinakes aspires to be the master catalogue for manuscripts throughout the world with pre-16th-century Greek texts. Operated by the Section grecque de l’Institut de recherche et d’histoire des textes, the project is built upon a relational database. Users can search and filter by a variety of criteria, including text, author, city where the manuscript is held, and so on. The site also includes a bibliography of manuscript catalogues, noting those that are available online.

The LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts.

Gloses et commentaires de la Bible au Moyen Âge--Portail de ressources numériques

Digitized manuscripts in German state libraries.

Vatican Library manuscripts catalog

Database of manuscripts digitized by the Vatican Library

Manuscritos

Since 2001, Heidelberg University Library has been working on several projects that aim to digitize parts of this great collection, the final goal being a complete virtual reconstruction of the 'mother of all libraries'.

Find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library.

Online catalog of the Morgan Library

Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.

Database of Swiss Collections

Hosted by the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) Gallica offers over 3 million digitized documents, including 43,780 manuscripts.

University of Pennsylvania

This online publication presents a corpus of more than 3,800 later medieval manuscripts illustrated in the Low Countries, compiled, maintained and updated in an electronic database (Microsoft Access) in 1997-2012.

Find and view descriptions and images of manuscripts in the Bibliotheque nationale de France

MANUS is a database containing catalogue descriptions and digital images of manuscripts, private papers and archives held by Italian public, private and ecclesiastical libraries

This interactive, web-based workspace is designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

Fully digitized medieval manuscripts from various collections in Austria.

Walters Art Museum, Baltimore

This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web.

Use to search a manuscript on microfilm by Shelfmark. If the manuscript is in the collection, the database will display the Shelfmark and the number of the microfilm roll on which it is reproduced. If the manuscript also has a record in the SLU Libraries Catalog, the Shelfmark will link to that record in the catalog.