Research Guides: Special Collections- Vatican Film Library : Facsimiles

Overview

Supplementing our primary manuscript collection is a large number (almost 200) of partial or full printed facsimiles of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, representing a range of texts – devotional, scientific, and literary in a variety of languages – Latin, Greek, and vernacular.

Bibles
Books of Hours
Literary Manuscripts
Liturgical Manuscripts
Secular Subjects
Includes, among other topics, hagiographical, legal and medical facsimiles.
Law
Popes and Saints

Books of Hours

Hastings Hours, Adoration of Kings and Largesse, 1480
British Library. Add. MS 54782 , ff. 42v-43

Book of hours (Ms. Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Ross. 94)
Call Number: Z114 .V3 v.56 pt.1, pt.2
Das Stundenbuch Vat. Ross. 94 : entstanden um 1500. 240 leaves + 1 commentary volume.
Book of hours (Ms. Farnese)
Call Number: ND3363.F3 V64 2003
The Farnese Hours, executed in Rome for Alessandro Cardinal Farnese, were decorated by the illuminator Giulio Clovio from 1537 to 1546.
Book of hours (Ms. Stundenbuch der Maria von Burgund)
Call Number: ND3363.M293 S88 1995
Includes commentary.
Book of hours (Ms. Stundenbuch der Maria von Burgund)
Call Number: BX2080.A35 M3 1969 v.1-2
Formerly considered to have been the hour book of Charles the Bold; more recently, of his daughter Marie, Duchess of Burgundy. Commentary volume by Antoine de Schryver.
Las grandes horas de la reina Ana de Bretaña
Call Number: ND3363.B74 G73 2007
Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Ms. Lat. 9474
The Farnese Hours by Webster Smith; Giulio Clovio (Illustrator)
Call Number: ND3363.F3 S6
ISBN: 9780807608562
Facsimile of selected miniatures from The Farnese Hours with commentary.
The Madresfield hours : a fourteenth-century manuscript in the library of Earl Beauchamp
Call Number: ND3363.M33 B33 1975

Liturgical Manuscripts

Gospel of Trebizond.
Call Number: BX375.L37 A2 1994 v.1
volumes 1-2
Le bréviaire de Philippe le Bon : bréviaire parisien du XVe siècle.
Call Number: ND3365.P5 L47 1929 Text
The Breviary of Philip the Good is preserved in 2 manuscript volumes, with shelfmarks ms. Bibliothèque royale de Belgique 9511 and ms. Bibliothèque royale de Belgique 9026. The paintings and miniatures are generally ascribed to Guillaume Vrelant and his atelier.
Libellus Missae papalis (Ms. Borg. Lat. 425)
Call Number: ND3375.B53 L5 1986
The Christmas missal of Pope Alexander VI. With accompanying volume of commentary.
Mayer van den Bergh breviary
Call Number: ND3365.M3 G37 1932
The Mayer van den Bergy breviary was composed in a Flemish atelier probably for a Portuguese patron, in the first decade of the 16th century (cf. p. 75-77). It was in the possession of Martin Heckscher, Vienna, 1886?-1898 and was acquired by Mayer van den Bergh at the 1898 sale of Heckscher's collection.
Missal (Ms. Országos Széchényi Könyvtár, Cod. Lat. 221)
Call Number: ND3375.O77 C38 1989
"Missale itinerantium" executed in Bavaria ca. 1501 for Erasmus, Count of Wertheim, with an accompanying volume of commentary.
Stiftsarchiv St. Gallen. Manuscript. Codex Fabariensis 2.
Call Number: BX2005 .L53 1993
An 11th century evangeliary, containing the Gospel readings for the high feasts of the liturgical year. Accompanied by a volume of commentary.
Codices cantorum : miniature e disegni nei codici della Cappella Sistina / Emilia Anna Talamo ; a cura della Fondazione Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina ; con il patrocinio della Biblioteca apostolica vaticana ; con il contributo della Banca di credito co by Talamo, Emilia Anna
Call Number: ND3380 .T35 1997
Includes full-color facsimiles of selected pages from 15th- and 16th century choir books used at the Cappella Sistina.

Greek Manuscripts

Codex Sinaiticus
Call Number: BS64 .S3 2010
The Codex Sinaiticus, written in Greek in the fourth century, is the oldest surviving complete New Testament and one of the two oldest manuscripts of the whole Bible.
Josua-Rolle, Codex Vaticanus Pal. Graec. 431
Call Number: Z114 .V3 v. 43
Facsimile of the incompletely preserved 10th-century illuminated scroll known as the Joshua roll; illuminations (scenes from the Old Testament book of Joshua) are accompanied by ms. Greek captions and selections from the Septuagint text.
Treasures of Mount Athos : illuminated manuscripts, miniatures-headpieces-initial letters by S. M. Pelekanidis
Call Number: ND3157.A8 A8

Law

Sachsenspiegel.
Call Number: ND3399 .S33 2002
Facsimile of the manuscript created between 1347 and 1363, possibly in Meissen for Margrave Friedrich III, and now housed at the Sächsische Landesbibliothek--Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden under shelfmark M32.
Vidal Mayor
Call Number: KKT5341.A17 V53 1989
Book of law written for the medieval kingdom of Aragon, written by Vidal de Canellas, bishop of Huesca.

Bibles

Incipit to John, from the Book of Kells
Trinity College Dublin. MS 58, 292r

Book of Kells by Peter Fox, ed.
Call Number: ND3359.K4 B65 1990x Suppl.
ISBN: 3856720316
Publication Date: 1990
Ms. 58, Trinity College Library, Dublin : commentary volume
Illustrations of the Book of Genesis
Call Number: ND3358.G4 E38 1921
A complete reproduction in facsimile of the manuscript British Museum, Egerton 1894
Book of Kells
Call Number: ND3359.K4 B65 1990x
Publication Date: 1990
A complete facsimile edition.
The Codex Alexandrinus (Royal ms. 1 D v-viii)
Call Number: BS64 .A5 1909
The illustrated Beatus : a corpus of the illustrations of the commentary on the Apocalypse by John Williams
Call Number: ND3361.R52 B438 1994 v.1
The York Gospels
Call Number: BS2552 .Y67 1986

Secular Subjects

Fredrick II, De Arte Venandi cum Avibus
Biblioteca Vaticana. Pal. lat 1071, f. 2

Chirurgia : vollständige Faksimile-Ausgabe im Originalformat von Codex Series nova 2641 der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek / Abuʼl Qāsim H̲alaf ibn ʻAbbās al-Zahrāuī ; lateinisch von Gerhard von Cremona. by Abū al-Qāsim Khalaf ibn ʻAbbās al-Zahrāwī, -1013?
Call Number: ND3399.A28 L3 1979
Full-size, full-color facsimile of the manuscript Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek series nova 2641, containing Gherardo of Cremona's Latin translation of Maqālah fī al-ʻamal bi-al-yad (treatise 30 of Taṣrīf li-man ʻajiza ʻan al-taʼlīf), accompanied by a volume of commentary.
De arte venandi cum avibus by Frederick II
Call Number: ND3350 .G56 Bd.9
De Sphaera : sphaerae coelestis et planetarum descriptio : conservato alla Biblioteca estense universitaria di Modena : manoscritto Lat. 209 = [alpha].X.2.14.
Call Number: ND3399 .D48 2008
"The De Sphaera is unanimously regarded as the most beautiful astrological book of the Italian Renaissance."--Bookseller's description.
Die illustrierten Prudentius-Handschriften. Tafelband / Richard Stettiner. by Stettiner, Richard, 1865-1927
Call Number: PA6648.P7 S74 1905
Early English manuscripts in facsimile
Call Number: Z115.E5 E2
29 volumes
Valla's translation of Thucydides in Vat. Lat. 1801 : with the reproduction of the codex by Mortimer Chambers
Call Number: Z810.B43 S78 v.445
Pius Spec Coll VFL Ref
Picturae, ornamenta, complura scripturae specimina codicis Vaticani 3867 qui codex Vergilii Romanus audit / phototypice expressa consilio et opera curatorum Bibliothecae Vaticanae. by Virgil
Call Number: Z114 .C65 v.2
Manuscript facsimile of selected leaves of Vat. Lat. 3867, best known as the Vergilius Romanus, presenting portions of Virgil's Aeneis, Bucolica, and Georgica.
The map of Great Britain circa A.D. 1360, known as the Gough map : [preserved in the Bodleian Library, Oxford].
Call Number: G5740 1360 .M3 1996 Facsim
Full-color facsimile reproduction of the 14th-century manuscript known as the Gough map, with accompanying commentary volume.

Syriac Manuscripts

Texts and Translations of the chronicle of Michael the Great by George A. Kiraz
Call Number: BR161 .M525 2009
VFL has volumes 1-4. Volume 1 contains a facsimile reproduction of the manuscript Aleppo, Library of St. George's Church (the "Edessa-Aleppo manuscript"), in Syriac with a summary in English.

See also BAV by Language under
"Printed Catalogs"

Syriac manuscripts from the Vatican Library
Call Number: PJ5621 .S97 2005
Electronic facsimilies (in PDF) of Syriac manuscripts from the Biblioteca apostolica vaticana.

Hebrew Manuscripts

Rothschild Miscellany
Call Number: ND3399 .R68 1989
Full-color, full-size facsimile reproduction of the manuscript Israel Museum 180/51. The manuscript comprises some fifty religious and secular works bound together, including liturgical works, Bible texts, Haggadah texts, and treatises on philosophy.

Located in Pius Spec Coll VFL MSS

Popes and Saints

Vita Sancti Liudgeri.
Call Number: BX4700.L74 V58 1993
Accompanied by a supplementary text
Vita der Mathilde von Canossa by Donizone of Canossa
Call Number: DG737.24.M4 D66 1984
Accompanied by commentary volume.
Magyar Anjou Legendárium.
Call Number: ND3385.M3 M34 1990 Facsim
Heiligenleben - Legendarium der ungarischen Anjou : Vat. Lat. 8541, entstanden Mitte 14. Jahrhundert. With accompanying volume of commentary.
Vaticinia de summis pontificibus
Call Number: BX958.P75 V38 1987
Full-color facsimile of the Vatican ms. with an accompanying commentary volume. Ciardi Duprè Dal Poggetto assigns the Vatican ms. to Siena, ca. 1415, and believes its miniatures are by Andrea di Bartolo. The text was originally completed no later than 1305, and includes prophecies concerning the popes.

Psalters

Der Stuttgarter Bilderpsalter
Call Number: ND3357.S7 A32
The Stuttgart psalter is a Carolingian psalter, probably produced in Saint-Germain-des-Prés in the first half of the ninth century
Psalter (Canterbury psalter)
Call Number: ND3357.C3 J3 1935
Facsimile reproduction of the manuscript preserved at Trinity College, Cambridge. Text of the psalter in Latin; introduction in English.
Psalter (Ms. Dagulf)
Call Number: ND3357 .D34 1980 Facsim
Includes, besides Psalms, various liturgical materials. Facsimile volume and commentary volume.
Psalter (Ms. Ingeborg psalter)
Call Number: ND3357 .I5 1985
Full-color facsimile, which itself was executed ca. 1195, probably in the diocese of Noyon, France. Text in Latin, with miniature captions and 2 flyleaf inscriptions in French. Accompanied by commentary volume.
Psalter (Ms. Psalterium glosatum)
Call Number: ND3357 .P745 2004
Three parallel columns which present three different Latin translations of the Psalter: the Psalterium Romanum, the Psalterium Hebraicum, and the Psalterium Gallicanum. Accompanied by a commentary volume.
Psalter (Ms. Ramsey)
Call Number: ND3357 .R36 1996
A psalter (Book of Psalms) arranged for liturgical use. The most elaborate ornamentation indicates the divisions for weekly recitation by the secular clergy; the monastic usage is indicated by lesser ornamentation. Included also are canticles, together with a calendar, some antiphons, and collects according to secular usage. Accompanying commentary volume.
Psalter (Ms. Utrecht psalter)
Call Number: ND3357 .U8 1982
Vollständige Faksimile-Ausgabe im Originalformat der Handschrift 32, Utrecht-Psalter, aus dem Besitz der Bibliotheek der Rijksuniversiteit te Utrecht. Accompanied by commentary volume.
Queen Mary's Psalter : miniatures and drawings by an English artist of the 14th century, reproduced from Royal ms. 2 B. VII in the British Museum
Call Number: ND3357.Q8 W3 1912
The Gorleston psalter : a manuscript of the beginning of the fourteenth century in the library of C. W. Dyson Perrins / described in relation to other East Anglian books of the period by Sydney C. Cockerell.
Call Number: ND3357.G7 C7 1907
The Luttrell psalter : a facsimile / commentary by Michelle P. Brown.
Call Number: ND3357.L8 L86 2006
Manuscript facsimile in Latin; introduction and commentary in English.