Research Guides: Romanticism: Home

Featured Resources

MLA International Bibliography

1926-present. This database indexes books, book chapters, dissertations and articles from over 6,000 journals and book series in language, linguistics, literature, and folklore….more.

Gale Primary Sources

1600-1925. Platform that allows cross-searching of Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926, The Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2014, and Archives Unbound....more.

Orlando - Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present

Searchable database of digitally-encoded, collaboratively-authored scholarship about the history of women's writing, including documents about authors’ lives and works as well as contextual historical material.

Best Bets

Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
1818-present. Contains the most complete listing available of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries....more.
SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
SLUth Search Plus searches about 50 library databases, including several literature databases (MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, and Project Muse.) and the SLU Libraries Catalog.
Orlando - Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of digitally-encoded, collaboratively-authored scholarship about the history of women's writing, including documents about authors’ lives and works as well as contextual historical material.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Literary Sources. Use this platform to cross-search all of SLU’s Gale literary databases and eBook titles. Research authors, their works, and literary movements and access full-text literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, and reviews...more.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
1600-1925. Platform that allows cross-searching of Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926, The Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2014, and Archives Unbound....more.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.