Research Guides: Romanticism: Romantic-Era Periodicals

Romantic-Era Periodicals Online

Romantic-era periodicals may also be found in the HathiTrust Digital Library, on Google Books, and the Internet Archive.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
1600-1925. Experience Gale Literary Sources, the search platform that allows searching many Gale digital collections together such as NCCO, ECCO, The Times Digital Archive, and The Making of Modern Law.

NCSE: Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
Includes Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publisher's Circular (1880-1890).
Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of 18th and 19th century journals. Includes: Annual Register (1758-1778), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-1750), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-1777), and The Builder (1843-1852).
Edinburgh Review
1802-1929
Forget Me Not: A Hypertextual Archive of Ackermann's 19th-Century Literary Annual
Hypertext archive of "elements from the 1823-1830 volumes of the earliest British-published literary annual, Forget Me Not, published by Rudolf Ackermann 1823-1847."

Selected Romantic-Era Periodicals in the SLU Libraries

Click on links for holdings information. Search the SLU Libraries Catalog by Journal Title to search for other Romantic era periodicals held by the SLU Libraries.

American Romantic-Era Periodicals

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.8 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspapers published in the 19th century, which include newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States.

Indexes to Romantic-Era Periodicals

Periodicals Index Online
Indexes articles in over 4,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 2005. Articles published 1665-2005.
Science in the 19th Century Periodical (SciPer Index)
Search the science content of several British nineteenth-century general periodicals. Articles published 1800-1900.
The Periodical Poetry Index: A Research Database of Poetry in Nineteenth-Century Periodicals
Database of citations to English-language poems published in nineteenth-century periodicals.
Quarterly Review Index
Index of the Quarterly Review, 1809-1824.
Attributions of Authorship in the Gentleman's Magazine
An electronic version of James M. Kuist's The Nichols File of the Gentleman's Magazine plus two supplements.
Poetry of the Gentlemen's Magazine, 1731-1800
Searchable list of poems printed in the Gentleman's Magazine from 1731-1800.
Attributions of Authorship in the European Magazine, 1782-1826
Searchable list of "known attributions of authorship of anonymous, pseudonymous, or incompletely attributed articles, letters, reviews, and poems appearing in the European Magazine throughout its entire 89-volume run."