Research Guides: Medical Family Therapy: Find articles in a database

Where is my article?

If the article is in the database, you will see one of these icons below the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article..

Otherwise you will use the button

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan. Remember that Pius Library is the home library for Medical Family Therapy.

HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer browser.

Key Databases for Medical Family Therapy

APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search the index and abstracts in this database for the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines. Content includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in English. Find full text for search results using the Find It @ SLU button.
Note: SLU Libraries' access to PsycINFO on OVID ended on 10/1/2024. Access will remain on EBSCOhost.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers over 3,000 journals in nursing and allied health.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations can be a source of information about very new areas of research that have not reported in scholarly journals yet.
Google Scholar @ SLU This link opens in a new window
Broad-based search. Less sophisticated searching options than many of the SLU subscription databases.
To see the Find It @ SLU link when searching Google Scholar off-campus:
- Sign in to Google Scholar Settings-Library Links
- Search for “Saint Louis University”
- Select “Find It @ SLU”
- Save
HaPI: Health & Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
1916-present/Mainly 1985-present. A major database for locating information on many types of measurement instruments such as questionnaires, rating scales, interview forms, tests, and more.
PubMed @ SLU This link opens in a new window
Using this unique link will display the “Find It @ SLU” full-text link for all articles. The definitive database for medical research and drug studies provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. 1809-present. Freely available online.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Some 1788-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science. Offers a different way to search using citation relationship among articles. Use this database to find out if a particular article has been cited in another article.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1980-present. Indexes and abstracts articles from over 1,400 journals and magazines in the social services in addition to social work dissertations.

All SLU databases

Access complete list of over 200 databases provided by SLU.

Access All SLU databases