Research Guides: Progressive Era to the Jazz Age, 1890-1920: Primary Sources in Library Databases

Primary Source Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
1600-1925. Platform that allows cross-searching of Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926, The Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2014, and Archives Unbound....more.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Full text reports and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and executive reports presented to Congress, 1817-1994. Content is multidisciplinary covering political, social, cultural, and military history, international and Native American relations, education, and business and industrial development. Also includes full color maps.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find Congressional testimony and hearing text on important social and political issues such as women's rights, labor, education, segregation, international relations, the gold standard and more. Full text of Congressional Hearings, 1824-1979. Full text of Unpublished hearings, 1824-1984. Also includes indexing of many other Congressional documents.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Search across all content or select one of the collections....more.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society...more.
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of primary source, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Includes sources related to slavery, civil rights (NAACP papers), women's rights, labor, international relations and military conflicts, Latinx history, and American politics and the Catholic church (John A Ryan papers).

Ebook Collections of Primary Sources

The Gilded Age and Progressive Era: A Documentary Reader by William A. Link (Editor); Susannah J. Link (Editor)
eBook
American Decades: Primary Documents by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
eBook. [v.1] 1900-1909 -- [v.2] 1910-1919 -- [v.3] 1920-1929
Reforming America: A Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era by Jeffrey A. Johnson (Editor)
eBook

African American Studies Center

African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Click on Search -> Primary Source Search. Materials available include topical articles, biographies, primary source documents, timelines, maps, and images.

Research Tip

When searching primary source library databases, make sure you're searching for keywords and phrases that were used during the time period you're researching.