Research Guides: U.S. History: Home

Featured Resources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.

Gale Primary Sources

1600-1925. Platform that allows cross-searching of Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Times Digital Archive, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926, The Economist Historical Archive: 1843-2014, and Archives Unbound....more.

America: History & Life

1895-present. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada...more.

Best Bets

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
SLUth Search Plus searches about 50 library databases, including America: History & Life, JSTOR, Project Muse, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.
Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains the most complete listing available of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of primary source, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Includes sources related to slavery, civil rights (NAACP papers), women's rights, labor, international relations and military conflicts, Latinx history, and American politics and the Catholic church (John A Ryan papers).
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
1600-1925. Sarch platform that allows searching Nineteenth Collections Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2011), and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers at the same time.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Access to U.S. legislative information in addition to bill tracking from 1989- , full text for bills and resolutions from 1789-present, legislative histories from 1969- as well as selected committee prints, hot bills and topics, congressional testimony, committee reports, House and Senate documents, voting records in Congress, and member information including financial disclosures and campaign contributions. The Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, available from the Advanced Search tab, includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-2016. Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports are also available from 2004 to present.....more.