Research Guides: HR 1900-05: The Historian's Craft: Jesuit and Catholic Traditions in the United States: Home

Background Information

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of over 19,000 deceased men and women who made significant contributions to building the United States.
There is 1 simultaneous user for this database....more.
Encyclopedia of World Biography This link opens in a new window
2004-present. Search across all the volumes and supplements of the second edition....more.
New Catholic Encyclopedia with Supplements This link opens in a new window
Search through the second edition of the New Catholic Enyclopedia (2003) and its Supplements….more.

Encyclopedia of American Urban History by David Goldfield
eBook
The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History by Michael Glazier; Thomas Shelly (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. BX1406.2 .E53 1997
Available on Level 4 of the Lewis Annex in the Reference section.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States by Martin E. Marty (Foreword by)
Call Number: Ref. BR515 .E52 2016
Available on Level 4 of the Lewis Annex in the Reference section.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference eBooks that includes many history and religion encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Books

Search for books and eBooks using the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.

Locating Materials in Pius Library

To find books in Missouri's academic libraries (and a few public libraries), search the MOBIUS Catalog.

To find books in Colorado and Wyoming, search Prospector.

To find books in U.S. libraries (and beyond), search WorldCat.

Articles, Book Reviews, and Books

SLUth Search Plus searches about 50 library databases, including America: History & Life, ATLA Religion Database, JSTOR, Project Muse, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This primarily archival journal resource provides access to the full-text of approximately 1200 unique journals, including many American history journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Premium collection provides full-text access to 600+ current, scholarly journals from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in the areas of humanities and social sciences

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this database currently indexes journal articles and book reviews from ca. 2,250 journals (ca. 960 of which are current), some as far back as the late 19th century, and essays in books from 1960 to the present....more.

How to Cite Your Sources

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Pius Reserve Z253 .U69 2017
17th ed., 2017. Ask for this book at the Pius Library Circulation Desk on Pius Level 1 or access it online via the link above.

Chicago Manual of Style
Guide from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

Streaming Film Databases

Alexander Street Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for selected films from Alexander Street....more.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video service for selected educational films from Films Media Group....more.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions....more.

Free Resources

The State Historical of Society On Demand Programs

HR 1900-05: The Historian's Craft: Jesuit and Catholic Traditions in the United States

Honors Librarian

Interlibrary Loan