Research Guides: ENGL 1920: Advanced Writing for Professionals: Getting Started

This guide contains resources for exploring your topic, finding books and articles, evaluating your sources, citing your sources, and getting answers via the SLU libraries. Tabs at the top of the guide correspond to the types of information you may need to find during the research process.

Exploring Your Topic

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
10/25/1991-present. Each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth. Use it to find research topic ideas, refine a topic, or get background information on a topic...more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for many topics such as hybrid cars, terrorism, legalizing marijuana, and health care by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series and much more....more.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all the articles with illustrations from the most recent edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, over 110,000 definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Science and Technology, biographies, and the latest Science News® headlines... more.
This resource has 1 simultaneous user.
SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use SLUth to start your information search - find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Some major databases such as ABI/INFORM Complete, Biological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts are not included....more.