Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2750-02/FSTD 2700-02: Film, Culture, & Literature: Love and War

Library resources and information for students in ENGL 2750-02/FSTD 2700-02: Film, Culture, & Literature: Love and War, Fall 2020. Dr. Joya Uraizee.

What's a Scholarly Source?

Dr. Uraizee requires that you incorporate at least 3 scholarly sources into your paper. What does that mean?

Watch this short video to learn about the differences between popular and scholarly sources:

Source: “Scholarly and Popular Sources” by Carnegie Vincent Library, licensed under a CC-BY License.

Find Articles, Books, eBooks, Film Reviews, and More

SLUth Search Plus searches about 100 library databases, including Art Full Ttext, MLA International Bibliography, America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, JSTOR, and Project Muse, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

All of the databases are listed below are included in SLUth Search Plus. However, sometimes it's easier to use a single database that's focused on the literature of one discipline to find articles on your topic. Or, you might like to use a database like JSTOR or Project Muse that includes the full text of every article in the database.

Find Books and eBooks

If you're looking specifically for books and ebooks, you might find it easier to search the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog using the search box below.

To find the books about the life and work of an author, use a SUBJECT search in the SLU Libraries Catalog. You'll find a listing of all the library's  books on that author, broken down by subject area.

To find the works of an author, search for them as an AUTHOR in the SLU Libraries Catalog.

Can't Find the Perfect Source?

Keep in mind that if you're looking for an all-in-one source that addresses your topic perfectly, you might need to change your approach. Watch this short video to learn what to do when you can't find enough resources on your topic.

Source: “One Perfect Source?” by North Carolina State University Libraries, licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US License.

Citing Sources