Research Guides: HIST 1120-01 & HIST 1120-13: Origins of the Modern World Since 1500: Sickness & Healing (Petijean): Home

Find Encyclopedia Entries

Gale eBooks
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more....more.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles and Books

Search for scholarly (aka peer reviewed) journal articles and books using SLUth Search Plus. It searches more than 100 library databases, including several history (Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life, JSTOR, Project Muse) and medical databases (Medline) and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

Learn how to use SLUth Search Plus by watching this short video.

Historical Abstracts
1863-present. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from the 15th century to the present....more.
America: History & Life
1895-present. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada...more.
JSTOR
This primarily archival journal resource and current scholarship program journals provide access to full-text of approximately 1200 unique (does NOT count previous titles for same periodical) journal titles (as of September 2019). These titles are contained in 10 collections: Arts & Sciences I through VIII, the Life Sciences Collection, and 19th Century British Pamphlets....more.
Project MUSE
Premium collection provides full-text access to 600+ current, scholarly journals from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in the areas of humanities and social sciences with some in science, technology, and mathematics.....more.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
1946-present. Search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals. Topics covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-medical sciences.
PubMed
1809-present. PubMed is the National Center for Biotechnology Information's search service that provides access to references drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE, as well as Publisher-Supplied citations, and books...more.

If you're looking specifically for books and ebooks, you might prefer using the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.

Look for books published by university presses and scholarly associations, written by authors with degrees and credentials in the field. Scholarly or academic books will also cite their sources and will have a lengthy list of references.

Learn how to find books on a topic using the SLU Libraries Catalog by watching this short video.

HIST 1120-01 & HIST 1120-13: Origins of the Modern World Since 1500: Sickness & Healing (Petijean)

History Librarian

Find Encyclopedia Entries

Find Scholarly Journal Articles and Books

SLUth - Search Plus

Peer Review