Research Guides: Physics: General Searching

Your Librarian

Megan Toups

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library
Room 202I

314-977-3590

Subjects: Aviation & Engineering, Science & Mathematics

Find an Article

SLU Department of Physics Homepage
Unlocking the secrets of the universe and understanding how the physical world works is of the utmost importance at the Saint Louis University Department of Physics. Check the latest in faculty research and departmental news here.

NTRS (NASA Technical Report Server)
"The NASA Technical Report Server is an experimental service that allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. Specifically, it is a unified interface to many separate WAIS servers. NTRS is both a superset of the various servers, and a canonical listing of the servers."

arXiv e-print service
Open access to 533,988 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
more...less...
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all the articles with illustrations from the most recent edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, over 110,000 definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Science and Technology, biographies, and the latest Science News® headlines... more.
This resource has 1 simultaneous user.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Search or browse all APS Journals back to their first issues....more.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
10/1983-present. Search articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, and new product reviews on the subjects of engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology...more.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to a number of freely available IOP journals plus access to previously paid IOP content. For a list of currently available full text journals, please click here....more.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Search or browse over 2,200 ScienceDirect Freedom Collection titles available to SLU, primarily from 1995 to present.....more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Some 1788-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for scholarly materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities. Similar to Web of Science…..more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1990-present. WOS consists of three databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded, all of which are citation indexes. Together these index thousands of scholarly research journals from hundreds of disciplines. Do a Cited Reference search or a Topic search....more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Browse or search across over 1,000 journal titles generally from 1996 or 1997 to present and several online encyclopedias covering life science, management, and some technology....more.

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books using Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog

Advanced Search

Did not find what you want? Search MOBIUS, the Missouri, statewide, union catalog.

Still did not locate a specific resource? Try WorldCat, the US union catalog.

Link Me Up

aero news network by keavy
ScienceBlogs by John
ScienceBlogs is a portal to this global dialogue, a digital science salon featuring the leading bloggers from a wide array of scientific disciplines.
Elemental humor by John
AU Press web site by John
AU Press publishes books, monographs, and occasional papers that are the results of unique research by military authors and civilian scholars. The press also provides publishing support to other AU and Air Force agencies.

Manuals and Handbooks

The following library catalog links are either
to print or online editions.

Encyclopedia of fluid mechanics / Nicholas P. Cheremisinoff, editor. v.1. Flow phenomena and measurement -- v.2. Dynamics of single-fluid flows and mixing -- v.3. Gas-liquid flows -- v.4. Solids and gas - solids flows -- v.5. Slurry flow technology -- v.6. Complex flow phenemena and modeling -- v.7. Rheology and non-Newtonian flows --v.8. Aerodynamics and compressible flows.
Guide to Vectors and Tensors
Mathematics and Physics for Programmers Beginning with the basic aspects of mathematics and physics that are relevant to games, and moving on to more complex topics, the book combines theory and practice and the reader develops a number of games throughout the course of the book.
Quantum Physics for Scientists and Technologists: Fundamental Principles and Applications for Biologists, Chemists, Computer Scientists, and Nanotechnologists Quantum Physics for Scientists and Technologists is a self-contained, cohesive, concise, yet comprehensive story of quantum physics presented for students and professionals in biology, chemistry, material science, engineering, computer science, nanotechnology, and related fields.

AIP Style Manual by J.T. Scott (Editor) This work is intended for those involved in writing and publishing in physics: authors, editors, publishers, proofreaders, copy-editors, bibliographers and students.
ISBN: 088318642X
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
AIP Physics Desk Reference by E. Richard Cohen (Editor); David R. Lide (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor) Originally published by the American Institute of Physics as the Physics Vade Mecum, this third edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary modern physics. It is a concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations, and this edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory. A new, final chapter deals with practical laboratory data, while the references and bibliographies have been updated. The book should prove a valuable tool for researchers, professionals and students in physics as well as others who use physics data.
ISBN: 0387989730
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
Concise Handbook in Physics and Mathematics by Alexander G. Alenitsyn; Alexander S. Kondratyev; Eugene I. Butikov This text seeks to present a unified and coherent treatment of all the major aspects of modern elementary physics and mathematics. Mathematical topics include: main conventional symbols; formulas and rules; sets, real numbers and functions; equations, systems of equations, and inequalities; trigonometry; principles of calculus; combinatorics; complex numbers; vectors, co-ordinates, displacements and symmetries; planimetry and stereometry; approximate calculations; and elements of probability. Physical topics include: physical quantities, their dimensions and systems of units; mechanics; molecular physics and thermodynamics; electricity and magnetism; oscillations and waves; optics; and relativistic and quantum physics.
ISBN: 0849377455
Publication Date: 1997-05-12
Handbook of Physics by John W. Harris (Editor); Horst Stöcker (Editor); Walter Benenson (Editor); Holger Lutz (Editor) Handbook of Physics is a veritable toolbox for rapid access to a wealth of physics information for everyday use in problem solving, homework, and examinations. This complete reference includes not only the fundamental formulas of physics but also experimental methods used in practice.
ISBN: 0387952691
Publication Date: 2006-01-13
Dictionary of Physics by Sybil P. Parker (Editor); McGraw-Hill Staff THE LANGUAGE OF MATHEMATICS AT YOUR FINGERTIPSDerived from the world-renowned "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, this vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of mathematics or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, "The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics, Second Edition: * Has been extensively revised, with 4,000 entries encompassing the language of mathematics and statistics * Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations * Provides pronunciations for all terms * Covers such topics as algebra, analysis, arithmetic, logic and settheory, number theory, probability and statistics, topology, and trigonometry * Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information * Is based on the "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - for more than a quarter-of-a-century THE standard international reference Carefully reviewed for clarity, completeness, and accuracy, the "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics, Second Edition, offers a standard of excellence unmatched by any similar publication.
ISBN: 0071410481
Publication Date: 2003-01-27